Men’s & Women’s HSBC Sevens Series Awards 2020 winners announced

Men's & Women's HSBC Sevens Series Awards 2020 winners announced

With the season abandoned, World Rugby still had the pleasure of sharing the men’s and women’s HSBC Sevens Series Awards 2020 winners, and the much-respected Dream Teams before the abruptly ended 2019/20 calendar was stopped prematurely.

That did not diminish the quality of play though. And both the men’s and women’s teams were celebrated this week by World Rugby, in the team, individual, and in accomplishments measured this season.

New Zealand’s teams have rightly been crowned Champions, after the early season conclusion. Yet here, all teams were given credit, and the below list shows that wide acclaim.

Sevens Series Awards 2020 winners announced

World Rugby today confirmed the winners of the HSBC Sevens Series awards 2020. The awards recognize and celebrate the men’s and women’s players and teams, who have performed at the highest level across the season.

HSBC Dream Team 

The best of the best. The Awards panel, including special guest panelists, HSBC Ambassadors Danielle Waterman and Bryan Habana, have determined the best seven men’s and women’s players to make up the HSBC Dream Teams.

Men’s –

  • Scott Curry (New Zealand)
  • Tavite Veredamu (France)
  • JC Pretorius (South Africa)
  • Napolioni Bolaca (Fiji)
  • Jordan Conroy (Ireland)
  • Aminiasi Tuimaba (Fiji)
  • Selvyn Davids (South Africa)

Women’s –

  • Brittany Benn (Canada)
  • Sharni Williams (Australia)
  • Ruby Tui (New Zealand)
  • Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand)
  • Ghislaine Landry (Canada)
  • Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand)
  • Kristi Kirshe (USA)

UL Mark of Excellence award –

Men’s winner:

  • Dan Norton (England): Dan Norton’s achievement of becoming the first sevens player to score 350 tries on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series at the HSBC Sydney Sevens

Women’s winner:

  • Tyla Nathan-Wong (New Zealand): Tyla Nathan-Wong for becoming the first Black Ferns Sevens player – and second overall – to reach 1,000 series points at the HSBC Sydney Sevens

Cigna Pressure Play award –

Men’s winner:

  • Napolioni Bolaca (Fiji): HSBC Sydney Sevens – Cup final try against South Africa

Women’s winner:

  • Lina Guerin (France): HSBC Sydney Sevens – Semi-final try against New Zealand

Gilbert Top Try Scorer: An award for the top try scorer on the men’s and women’s series.

  • Men’s winner: Jordan Conroy (Ireland)
  • Women’s winner: Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand)

DHL Impact Player –

A stats-based award that statistically analyses individual players’ all-round performances measured against four key criteria – offloads, carries, line-breaks, and tackles.

  • Men’s winner: Tavite Veredamu (France)
  • Women’s winner: Stacey Fluhler (New Zealand)

World Rugby Chairman Sir Bill Beaumont said: “On behalf of World Rugby I would like to congratulate all 24 women’s and men’s HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2020 award winners. Although the series this year was forced to conclude early there was no shortage of speed, skill, and spectacular tries on display from players and teams.

“Combined with unpredictable and awe-inspiring moments that embody the values of the game and remind us that rugby sevens is a truly unique and thrilling sport that will once again showcase itself to the worldwide audience at the Olympic Games in Tokyo next year.”


At the annual, end of year World Rugby Awards, the year’s best men’s and women’s players will be duly announced in their category.


“Main photo credit”
Embed from Getty Images