Derek Wolfe Signs Contract With Baltimore Ravens

Derek Wolfe Contract

NFL veteran edge defender Derek Wolfe signed a three-year, $12 million contract with the Baltimore Ravens. Wolfe played the 2020 season with the Ravens.

Derek Wolfe, Baltimore Ravens, Agree to Contract

Wolfe recorded one sack and six tackles for loss across 14 games with the 2020 Ravens. In the playoffs, he sacked Ryan Tannehill in Baltimore’s win over the Tennessee Titans. He posted a career-high run defense PFF grade of 85.3, but it came at the cost of a career-worst 47.6 pass-rushing grade.

Before heading to Baltimore, Wolfe spent eight years with the Denver Broncos. He recorded 33 sacks, posting at least four in five different seasons. Wolfe was never the star pass rusher in Denver; that was Von Miller, but Wolfe played well as a rotational pass rusher. In 2019, Wolfe had a career-high 7.0 sacks in just 12 games. He had a trio of multi-sack games in 2019.

The peak of Wolfe’s career came in 2015. After serving a suspension for PEDs, he recorded 5.5 sacks during the regular season. He also earned AFC Defensive Player of the Week honors after he and the Broncos stifled the then-undefeated Green Bay Packers. He stepped up in a big way to help the Broncos win the Super Bowl. Wolfe recorded full sacks in Denver’s first two playoff games. In Super Bowl 50, Wolfe, teamed up with Super Bowl MVP Miller to bring down Cam Newton. Wolfe is one of 37 players to record at least half of a sack in three playoff games. Since Wolfe, only Nick Bosa and Frank Clark have matched the accomplishment.

Denver selected Wolfe with the 36th pick in the 2012 NFL Draft. Wolfe ranks ninth in sacks among 2012 draftees.

Wolfe attended Cincinnati. With the Bearcats, Wolfe recorded 19.5 sacks and 37 tackles for loss in his career. His 21.5 tackles for loss in 2011 ranked first in the Big East and fifth in the NCAA. His 9.5 sacks ranked third in the Big East. Wolfe shared the 2011 Big East Defensive Player of the Year award with Khaseem Greene, a defensive back from Rutgers who won the award as a linebacker in 2012.

Main photo:
Embed from Getty Images