2020 NHL All-Star Game Rosters Announced

NHL All-star Game

The NHL All-Star game is being hosted by the St. Louis Blues this year and they will be well represented, as Ryan O’Reilly, Jordan Binnington, and Alex Pietrangelo have been selected. Eight teams have more than one player representing their team, but no other team had more than two players chosen. A total of 13 players in this year’s competition are making their All-Star Weekend debuts, and 24 of them have not made it more than twice in their careers. 

NHL All-Star Game Format and Rosters

The captains (selected by fan vote), are David Pastrnak of the Boston Bruins in the Atlantic Division, Nathan MacKinnon of the Colorado Avalanche in the Central Division, and Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers in the Pacific Division. Washington Capitals star wing Alex Ovechkin was also selected as captain of the Metropolitan Division but has elected to skip this year’s All-Star Game.

The format for this year’s competition remains the same. The first night of the All-Star break is comprised of a skills competition and the second day will consist of a three-on-three tournament between the divisions. In the first round, the two Eastern Conference teams will face off as well as the two Western Conference teams. The winners of those matchups will meet for the final round.

While the NHL All-Star Game tends to not be the same highly competitive action fans are used to seeing on a nightly basis, it can still be fun to watch. This game gives us a chance to see hockey’s truly elite talent play head to head. Some of the best will make our jaws drop as we see the puck dangled on sticks like it’s on a string, and flashy saves that no other player could make.

Atlantic Division

F David Pastrnak, Boston Bruins

G Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins

F Jack Eichel, Buffalo Sabres

F Tyler Bertuzzi, Detroit Red Wings

F Jonathan Huberdeau, Florida Panthers

D Shea Weber, Montreal Canadiens

F Anthony Duclair, Ottawa Senators

D Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning

F Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs

G Frederik Andersen, Toronto Maple Leafs

Metropolitan Division

D Dougie Hamilton, Carolina Hurricanes

D Seth Jones, Columbus Blue Jackets

G Joonas Korpisalo, Columbus Blue Jackets

F Kyle Palmieri, New Jersey Devils

F Mathew Barzal, New York Islanders

F Artemi Panarin, New York Rangers

F Travis Konecny, Philadelphia Flyers

F Jake Guentzel, Pittsburgh Penguins

D John Carlson, Washington Capitals

G Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals

Central Division

F Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks

F Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche

F Tyler Seguin, Dallas Stars

F Eric Staal, Minnesota Wild

D Roman Josi, Nashville Predators

F Ryan O’Reilly, St. Louis Blues

D Alex Pietrangelo, St. Louis Blues

G Jordan Binnington, St. Louis Blues

F Mark Scheifele, Winnipeg Jets

G Connor Hellebuyck, Winnipeg Jets

Pacific Division

F Jakob Silfverberg, Anaheim Ducks

G Darcy Kuemper, Arizona Coyotes

F Matthew Tkachuk, Calgary Flames

D Mark Giordano, Calgary Flames

F Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

F Leon Draisaitl, Edmonton Oilers

F Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

F Logan Couture, San Jose Sharks

F Elias Pettersson, Vancouver Canucks

G Marc-Andre Fleury, Vegas Golden Knights

Main Photo:

Embed from Getty Images

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.