Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

England ODI Squad Announcement vs Sri Lanka

England ODI Squad: Vince and Plunkett included ahead of ODIs; Mills, Malan, Dawson all make the squad for the one-off T20.

England have announced a 14-man squad for the upcoming five-match ODI series against Sri Lanka, and a 13-man T20 squad.

The notable inclusions are those of Liam Plunkett, who has been given the opportunity to fill the spot in the team vacated by Reece Topley‘s injury and Stuart Broad‘s omission, and James Vince, who will try to fill the vacant middle-order spot left by James Taylor’s forced retirement.

Ben Stokes is another man ruled out by injury.

The T20 squad features the uncapped trio of Middlesex’s Dawid Malan, Sussex quick Tymal Mills and Hampshire’s all-rounder Liam Dawson.

Mills has been a name mentioned with regards to England contention for several years, but only plays T20 cricket now for his county Sussex after being advised to retire from the longer forms off the game due to an ongoing back injury.

He has been one of the stand-out performers in this year’s T20 Blast, and was clocked at 93.3 mph in a televised game against Somerset whilst bowling Chris Gayle with a yorker.

Malan has been rewarded for a consistent few seasons for Middlesex, as well as excellent performances on the England Lions tour of the UAE over the winter. He made 253 runs in five innings against Pakistan A, including three scorers above fifty, and also made 163 runs for Peshawar Zalmi in the inaugural Pakistan Super League.

National Selector, James Whitaker, said: “We have made good progress over the past 12 months in all white ball cricket, which has been very encouraging.

“The six matches coming up against Sri Lanka will give the players a good test of their credentials. It is important for this group of players to make a mark this summer as we continue to improve ahead of hosting the ICC Champions Trophy tournament this time next year.

“The IT20 squad has a balanced feel to it with an exciting blend of youth and experience. This is our first test since reaching the final of the ICC World T20 and we know the players will want to ensure that they play well and win the match.

“This is also an opportunity, if selected, for two new players to showcase their skills at this level. Tymal Mills has been one of the standout performers with the ball in the NatWest T20 Blast competition this season and deserves his chance.

Dawid Malan has made great strides as an attacking batsman, both with Middlesex and the England Lions. We were particularly impressed with his three fifties during the winter tour of the UAE against Pakistan A.

“On behalf of the selectors, I would like to wish Eoin Morgan and Trevor Bayliss all the very best for what I’m sure will be a very competitive and entertaining series.”


1st ODI: 21st June, Trent Bridge (Day/Night)

2nd ODI: 24th June, Edgbaston (Day/Night)

3rd ODI: 26th June, Bristol

4th ODI: 29th June, The Oval (Day/Night)

5th ODI: 2nd July, Cardiff

Only T20I: 5th July, Southampton

England ODI Squad:

Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)

Jason Roy (Surrey)

Joe Root (Yorkshire)

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex)

Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)

Jos Buttler (Lancashire)

Moeen Ali (Worcestershire)

Adil Rashid (Yorkshire)

David Willey (Yorkshire)

Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

Steven Finn (Middlesex)

James Vince (Hampshire)

Chris Jordan (Sussex)

Liam Plunkett (Yorkshire)

Changes for T20: Sam Billings, Dawid Malan, Tymal Mills and Liam Dawson replace Moeen Ali, Joe Root, Chris Woakes, Alex Hales and Steven Finn


More Posts

Send Us A Message