Earthquakes Extend Chris Wondolowski's Contract

SAN JOSE, CA- The San Jose Earthquakes wrapped up Chris Wondolowski on a contract extension, keeping the ‘Quakes legend in the Black and Blue for most likely the remainder of his career. Wondolowski, 33, is now the fourth on the all-time MLS scorers list with 116 goals, just 29 away from Landon Donovan’s record total. Wondo has been as healthy as ever, having not been put on the disabled list or injured reserve over his entire career. He has played in 240 games since entering the league in 2005. Wondolowski was already being paid around $700,000 a year, according to the player salary report that was released yesterday by the MLS Players Union. It would be safe to assume there was a pay raise, which would be well deserved.

Wondolowski was traded to the San Jose Earthquakes from the Houston Dynamo in 2009 in exchange for Cam Weaver, a trade in which the Earthquakes clearly won. Within six years, Wondo accrued two MLS golden boots (2010/2012), an MVP award (2012), three MLS Best XI awards (’10,’11,’12), became the franchise’s all time leading goal scorer, and won the Golden Boot at the 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup. Ironically, the only team Wondolowski has never scored against has been the team that traded him. He is also tied with Roy Lassiter and Bradley Wright-Phillips for most goals in a season in MLS history with 27 (2012).

Wondolowski has also represented the US Men’s National Team on 31 occasions, scoring ten goals. He was a member of the 2014 FIFA World Cup 23-man roster, but failed to find the score sheet in three appearances. He has been named to the provisional 40-man roster for the US National Team’s Copa America Centenario competition that will start June 3rd. He will definitely be a part of the San Jose Earthquakes moving forward, which will bring a lot of stability to the San Jose frontline.

Wondolowski and the Earthquakes will next be in action this Sunday against the Los Angeles Galaxy in the second installment of the Cali-Classico this season. The game will take place at 7 PM ET/4 PM PT and can be seen on Fox Sports 1.