Los Angeles Kings goaltender is known for making jaw-dropping, acrobatic saves on a regular basis, and last night against the Edmonton Oilers he added another to his resume… at least according to the score card.
Quick’s save prevented his team from going to overtime and netted two points in regulation. The Oilers were down a goal thanks to a late powerplay tally from Tanner Pearson, and pulled Cam Talbot with the faceoff in the Kings zone. Edmonton worked the puck around the zone and got it to Connor McDavid, who was alone on the far side of the crease. He seemingly had an open net to shoot at until Quick entered the picture. A spectacular glove save by Quick robbed the young 18-year-old phenom of the game-tying goal with just five seconds to go.
Quick Robs McDavid
Or did it?
The Oilers thought they had tied it, as part of Quick’s glove was in the net. The call on the ice was no goal, and it went to video review. It’s quite possible, and perhaps likely, that the puck had crossed the line, as can be seen from this angle:
— Joanne Ireland (@jirelandEJ) October 26, 2015
The part of Quick’s glove that the puck appeared to be caught in was the same part that entered the net. But under the NHL’s rules, since only part of the glove had crossed the line, and there was no conclusive evidence that the puck was fully in the net, it was ruled as no goal.
Edmonton couldn’t muster up anything in the remaining five seconds, and ultimately lost by a score of 3-2. The Oilers have now dropped 10 of the last 13 meetings with the Kings, dating back to the lockout-shortened 2013 season. It was a tough way for Edmonton to lose, and they now sit with a 3-6-0 record through nine games. The Kings on the other hand won their fifth straight and have a 5-3-0 record, battling out of the early-season rut they found themselves in. Both teams are back in action on Tuesday.