Springbok Squad Announced for June Internationals

Springbok squad announcement

The Springbok squad announced today is the first in new Head Coach Rassie Erasmus’s international career. It is an extended squad of 43 players to accommodate the Test against Wales in Washington and the three Test series against England.

Springbok Squad Announced

As we predicted, there are some real surprises in the squad. In our early call of yesterday, we made some bold calls and got them right. We were also caught out by a few. Rassie Erasmus made good on his promise of naming a few surprises. We can see that there is a definite eye on developing a squad, with 17 uncapped players in the squad.

At first view, this is a decent squad with a lot of potential. There is only a year before the next Rugby World Cup in 2019. The work starts now.

We need to keep in mind that Erasmus is going to manipulate this squad. His starting fifteen against England at Emirates Airline Park is unlikely to travel to Washington. The bulk of the team taking Wales on in Washington will probably not get a look in for selection against England.

Below, the squad released by SA Rugby:

The Springbok squad for the June internationals (in order of name, position, franchise, Test caps, points): 

Forwards (24):

Nizaam Carr (loose forward, DHL Stormers, 5, 0)

Bismarck du Plessis (hooker, Montpellier, France, 79, 55 – 11t)

Dan du Preez (loose forward, Cell C Sharks, 3, 0)

Jean-Luc du Preez (loose forward, Cell C Sharks, 10, 10 – 2t)

Pieter-Steph du Toit (lock, DHL Stormers, 32, 20 – 4t)

Thomas du Toit (prop, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)

Jason Jenkins (lock, Vodacom Bulls, uncapped)

Steven Kitshoff (prop, DHL Stormers, 23, 5 – 1t)

Siya Kolisi (loose forward, DHL Stormers, 28, 20 – 4t)

Wilco Louw (prop, DHL Stormers, 5, 0)

Frans Malherbe (prop, DHL Stormers, 17, 0)

Bongi Mbonambi (hooker, DHL Stormers, 14, 5 – 1t)

Oupa Mohojé (loose forward, Toyota Cheetahs 18, 0)

Franco Mostert (lock, Emirates Lions, 18, 5 – 1t)

Tendai Mtawarira (prop, Cell C Sharks, 98, 10 – 2t)

Ox Nche (prop, Toyota Cheetahs, uncapped)

Sikhumbuzo Notshe (loose forward, DHL Stormers, uncapped)

Trevor Nyakane (prop, Vodacom Bulls, 37, 5 – 1t)

Marvin Orie (lock, Emirates Lions, uncapped)

Chiliboy Ralepelle (hooker, Cell C Sharks 23, 5 – 1t)

Kwagga Smith (loose forward, Emirates Lions, uncapped)

RG Snyman (lock, Vodacom Bulls, uncapped)

Akker van der Merwe (hooker, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)

Duane Vermeulen (loose forward, Toulon, France, 39, 10 – 2t)


Backs (19):

Lukhanyo Am (centre, Cell C Sharks, 1, 0)

Curwin Bosch (utility back Cell C Sharks, 1, 0)

Damian de Allende (centre, DHL Stormers, 28, 15 – 3t)

Faf de Klerk (scrumhalf, Sale Sharks, England, 11, 0)

Robert du Preez (flyhalf, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)

Aphiwe Dyantyi (wing, Emirates Lions, uncapped)

André Esterhuizen (centre, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)

Warrick Gelant (fullback, Vodacom Bulls, 2, 5 – 1t)

Travis Ismaiel (wing, Vodacom Bulls, uncapped)

Elton Jantjies (flyhalf, Emirates Lions, 23, 203 – 2t, 38c, 39p)

Jesse Kriel (centre, Vodacom Bulls, 29, 40 – 8t)

Willie le Roux (fullback, Wasps, England, 41, 50 – 10t)

Makazole Mapimpi (wing, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)

Sibusiso Nkosi (wing, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)

Embrose Papier (scrumhalf, Vodacom Bulls, uncapped)

Handré Pollard (flyhalf, Vodacom Bulls, 26, 218 – 3t, 37c, 40p, 3d)

Frans Steyn (utility back, Montpellier, France, 56, 132 – 10t, 5c, 21p, 3d)

Ivan van Zyl (scrumhalf, Vodacom Bulls, uncapped)

Cameron Wright (scrumhalf, Cell C Sharks, uncapped)


“Main Photo:”
Embed from Getty Images