Sydney 7’s 2017 Women’s Draw Confirmed

The draw for the Sydney 7’s 2017 Women’s tournament has today been confirmed. Australia’s ‘Golden Girls’ from the Rio Olympic games will be competing for the first time at home since that victory. They will be looking to inspire a whole new generation of girls, with some fantastic Sevens rugby on show.

The Women’s Sevens Draw

12 teams will be in action across two days; February 3-4, with the Finals coinciding with Day One of the Men’s event. A plethora of talent will be on show in the Women’s competition–not least with the Australian side–but they are joined by power houses New Zealand and England, as well as the USA and Canada. All of whom have incredible rugby pedigree in the Sevens format.

Stand out games on Day One will see when the hosts take on the ever improving Irish and the final match of the day, as New Zealand take on Canada at the Allianz Stadium.

Full Draw

Sell Out on the Cards

With Sevens in the spotlight thanks to it’s place at the Olympics, the Sydney 7’s 2017 announced that it is close the being a sold out event. This is for Days Two and Three, however, with plenty of opportunity for people to get involved with Day One of the Women’s event. An estimated 35,000 people already have their ticket to the fun fest that is a weekend of Sevens rugby. As ever the fan interaction off the field will be just as key to the success of this tournament as the action on it.

Aussies Looking for Revenge

The Australians will be looking to go one better than they did in the first round of the Series. Their defence of the 2016 World Rugby Sevens Series did not go according to plan as they lost to New Zealand in the Cup Final in Dubai. With a boisterous home crowd behind them they will be aiming to make an impact from the start and get their title defense back on track.

The Sydney 7’s will kick off what will be a month of anticipation for rugby fans in Australia.

February 3-4 – 2017 Sydney 7s, Australia

The Sevens takes precedent on the first weekend in February before the Brisbane Global Rugby Tens on February 11, culminating in the start of Super Rugby on Thursday February 23 in Melbourne, Australia.