Formula E 2018 – Mexico City E-Prix Review

Spread the love

Formula E 2018 resumed after a month of hiatus with Round five of the Formula E season finally took place at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez Circuit in Mexico City. The Formula E 2018 Mexico City E-Prix left many teams itching for results after the end of round four in Santiago, Chile.

Formula E 2018 Mexico City E-Prix Review

The race was definitely eventful, so here is a review of the Formula E 2018 Mexico City E-Prix:

Qualifying Results

Super Pole

1. Felix Rosenqvist
2. Alex Lynn
3. Oliver Turvey
4. Sebastien Buemi
5. Antonio Felix Da Costa


1. Sebastian Buemi
2. Felix Rosenqvist
3. Antonio Felix da Costa
4. Oliver Turvey
5. Alex Lynn
6. Daniel Abt
7. Jean-Eric Vergne
8. Nelson Piquet Jr.
9. Sam Bird
10. Nick Heidfield
11. Andre Lotterer
12. Lucas di Grassi
13. Maro Engel
14. Mitch Evans
15. Jose Maria Lopez
16. Jerome D’Ambrosio
17. Nico Prost
18. Tom Blomqvist
19. Luca Filippi
20. Edoardo Mortara

Race Report

The Start

When the lights went out for the race start, Felix Rosenqvist had a strong start and led into the first corner followed by NIO’s Oliver Turvey, who started from second place and Sebastien Buemi. Daniel Abt jumped Antonio Felix da Costa into fourth place making for very eventful first few corners.

Rosenqvist started to pull a lead over Turvey, since his NIO car lacks race pace at the moment. However, that lead was quickly diminished when his car came to a halt on Lap 14. This promoted Turvey, Abt and Buemi into podium positions.

The Pit Stops

Lap 23 was the primary pit window where the field switched cars for the second half of the race. This is the second time this season the minimum pit stop window was removed and teams are allowed to go as fast as they can.

Audi proved just how important a speedy pit stop is when Abt beat Turvey out of the pit lane. Taking the net lead, while Nelson Piquet Jr. opted for the overcut strategy and will have more power to use than the rest of the field for race end.

After all the pit stops, Abt emerged as leader and like Rosenqvist, pulled away from Turvey followed by Jean-Eric Vergne and Buemi. Vergne didn’t hold that position long however, Buemi used his Fan Boost to jet past Vergne and Piquet followed him through the start-finish straight. Piquet tried to use his extra power to get past Buemi but couldn’t find an open lane to pull it off.

Daniel Abt Wins The Race

After 47 laps with a lot of attendees in the stadium section, Abt took his maiden win of his Formula E career for Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler after being disqualified for a technical infringement in round two in Hong Kong. Turvey also took his maiden podium in Formula E finsihing second, while Buemi took the final podium positon finishing third.

Piquet finished fourth for Jaguar after a long battle with Buemi, even though he had more usuable energy than both Buemi and Turvey. Vergne finished in fifth for Techeetah, not able to match his race win result in Santiago a month ago. Mitch Evans finished sixth for Jaguar while Felix da la Costa finished in seventh for Andretti.

Edoardo Mortara finished in eighth for Venturi followed by Lucas di Grassi who secured his first points of the season for Audi finishing in ninth. Alex Lynn rounded out the top ten with DS Virgin Racing.

Final Race Results

1. Daniel Abt
2. Oliver Turvey
3. Sebastien Buemi
4. Nelson Piquet Jr.
5. Jean-Eric Vergne
6. Mitch Evans
7. Antonio Felix da Costa
8. Edoardo Mortara
9. Lucas di Grassi
10. Alex Lynn
11. Jerome D’Ambrosio
12. Jose Maria Lopez
13. Andre Lotterer
14. Luca Filippi
15. Tom Blomqvist
16. Maro Engel
17. Sam Bird
Nico Prost- DNF
Felix Rosenqvist- DNF
Nick Heidfeld- DNF


After the race finish, Vergne now has a 12-point lead in the Drivers’ Championship over Felix Rosenqvist. Despite the reliability issues, Rosenqvist still holds onto second despite failing to finish. Techeetah extended its lead over Mahindra Racing in the Constructors’ Championship due to both Mahindra cars failing to finish.

Drivers’ Standings

1. Jean-Eric Vergne 81
2. Felix Rosenqvist 69
3. Sam Bird 61
4. Sebastian Buemi 52
5. Nelson Piquet Jr. 45
6. Daniel Abt 37
7. Mitch Evans 29
8. Edoardo Mortara 28
9. Oliver Turvey 26
10. Nick Heidfeld 21
11. Andre Lotterer 18
12. Antonio Felix da Costa 16
13. Alex Lynn 9
14. Jose Maria Lopez 8
15. Nico Prost 7
16. Maro Engel 6
17. Jerome D’Ambrosio 4
18. Tom Blomqvist 4
19. Lucas di Grassi 3
20. Luca Filippi 1

Constructors’ Standings

1. Techeetah 99
2. Mahindra Racing 90
3. Panasonic Jaguar Racing 74
4. DS Virgin Racing 70
5. Renault E.Dams 59
6. Audi Sport Abt Schaeffler 40
7. Venturi Formula E Team 34
8. NIO Formula E Team 27
9. MS&AD Andretti Formula E 20
10. Dragon Racing 12

Embed from Getty Images