Alex Lynn claims pole in New York on Formula E debut

Alex Lynn has claimed pole position for the New York ePrix for DS Virgin Racing. The British driver set a time of a 1:03.296 in the Super Pole 1 qualifying session to beat Daniel Abt who was his nearest challenger, who put his Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport machine on the front row of the grid, albeit 0.238 seconds slower than Lynn.

Alex Lynn claims pole in New York on Formula E debut

Jean Eric Vergne qualified in third place, only three thousandths of a second slower than Abt for Techeetah. He will start alongside Sam Bird who qualified in fourth place. By putting his DS Virgin Racing car into fourth on the grid, the team is looking set for a good result in New York, and will be targeting a double podium finish. If both Lynn and Bird manage to do this, it would mark the first double podium finish for the team since Formula E started in 2014.

While Sebastien Buemi is absent from the grid in New York to compete in the World Endurance Championship, this weekend is a perfect chance for Lucas Di Grassi to close in on his championship rival and revive his title campaign with only four races remaining this season. In order to do this, it was important for the Brazilian driver to have a strong qualifying result, however, he only managed tenth on the grid, failing to qualify for the Super Pole 1 shootout.

Buemi’s replacement, Pierre Gasly, qualified down in 19th place for Renault e.dams in his first Formula E qualifying session, and will start alongside Maro Engel.

The New York ePrix marks the first time that Formula E has held a race in the city that never sleeps, and more significantly, it also marks the first time that an FIA associated event will be held in America’s biggest city, with the 1.21 mile long circuit being specifically designed for the double header event this weekend.

You can watch Alex Lynn’s pole lap here:


Qualifying for the New York ePrix Race 1:

  1. Alex Lynn, DS Virgin Racing, 1:03.296
  2. Daniel Abt, Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport, 1:03.534
  3. Jean-Eric Vergne, TECHEETAH, 1:03.537
  4. Sam Bird, DS Virgin Racing, 1:03.557
  5. Jerome D’Ambrosio, Faraday Future Dragon Racing, 1:07.203
  6. Nick Heidfeld, Mahindra, 1:03.193
  7. Nelson Piquet Jr, NextEV NIO. 1:03.361
  8. Oliver Turvey, NextEV NIO, 1:03.385
  9. Nico Prost, Renault e.dams, 1:03.433
  10. Lucas di Grassi, Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport, 1:03.480
  11. Stephane Sarrazin, TECHEETAH, 1:03.580
  12. Loic Duval, Faraday Future Dragon Racing, 1:03.521
  13. Adam Carroll, Panasonic Jaguar Racing, 1:03.555
  14. Mitch Evans, Abt Schaeffler Audi Sport, 1:03.637
  15. Tom Dillmann, Venturi, 1:03.795
  16. Robin Frijns, Andretti, 1:03.830
  17. Felix Rosenqvist, Mahindria, 1:04.300
  18. Antonio Felix da Costa, Andretti, 1:04.585
  19. Pierre Gasly, Renault e.dams, 1:04.936
  20. Maro Engel, Venturi, 1:17.571