Formula E: Avalanche Andretti confirms their first seat for Season 9

Jake Dennis (GBR), Avalanche Andretti, BMW iFE.21, leads
Spread the love

Avalanche Andretti has confirmed the return of one driver, while his teammate announces his departure heading into Season 9.

This week Andretti confirmed Jake Dennis as their first driver for the 2023 season. The announcement means we’ve moved into the second of the Formula E grid for next season. 13 of the (current) 24 seats have been finalized with several teams still yet to announce either of their drivers. Dennis gives Avalanche Andretti a strong contender for race wins and the series title, and experience to help develop their next-generation car.

Andretti sees a Title Contender in Dennis

Retaining Jake Dennis makes complete sense for the Avalanche team after two impressive seasons. If anything, there was a risk that a team higher up the grid might try to steal Dennis away. But as Formula E enters a new era with the Gen3 car, the combo of Andretti and Dennis will benefit both parties.

His rookie season saw him win twice and remain in the title battle until the final race, ultimately finishing third in the standings. While the Andretti appeared to lose a bit of pace in Season 8, Dennis’ qualifying performances and race pace kept him within the points for 13 of the 16 rounds. The highlight of his season was a home win at the London E-Prix. Dennis finished 6th in the Championship Standings and enters Season 9 as one of the favorites.

Jake Dennis stated, “I started my Formula E journey with Andretti and I’m excited to continue to work with the team that has continued to support my career in this series. Season 9 with the Gen3 era is an exciting time for all teams, and for us in particular with the new relationship with Porsche supplying the powertrain. I’m super motivated for next year and feel certain that with the dedication, teamwork, and investment I’ve seen over the past two years with Avalanche Andretti Formula E, we’ll be able to fight for wins and titles in the future.”

Season 9 won’t see a full Andretti Return

For 2022 Dennis was partnered with American driver Oliver Askew. Askew joined Formula E after winning the Indy Lights Championship (2019) and two seasons in IndyCar. His Formula E career got off to a great start with points in his opening race, finishing 9th in Diriyah. But in a series that relies heavily on experience, the unique experience of Formula E, he found himself outside the top ten for the next ten races.

The end of Askew’s season was a tale of two extremes. He had his best two finishes, 4th in London & 5th in Seoul, but also had three DNFs surrounding those impressive runs. Despite that positive end, Avalanche Andretti has elected not to retain Askew for another year. The driver thanked the team on Twitter and all but confirmed he will not return. Will Askew be picked up by another Formula E team or will it be a return to the IndyCar series?

Current Formula E Driver Lineup – Season 9

  • ABT: Robin Frijns & Nico Muller
  • Avalanche Andretti: Jake Dennis & TBD
  • DS Dragon: TBD (both seats)
  • Envision: Nick Cassidy & TBD
  • Jaguar: Mitch Evans & Sam Bird
  • McLaren: Rene Rast & TBD
  • Mahindra: Oliver Rowland & Lucas di Grassi
  • Maserati: TBD (both seats)
  • NIO 333: TBD (both seats)
  • Nissan: Norman Nato & Sacha Fenestraz
  • Porsche: Pascal Wehrlein & Antonio Felix da Costa
  • Techeetah: TBD (both seats)
Featured Image Credit: Sam Bloxham