Brazilian GP – Mercedes Wins Constructors’ Championship In Brazil

Brazilian GP
Spread the love

Mercedes walked out of the Brazilian GP with the 2018 Formula 1 Constructors’ Championship win after a race that could have gone Max Verstappen’s way, if not for a collision. Verstappen was outracing those around him, starting 5th and making his way into first place as the race was winding down. On lap 44, the Red Bull driver collided with Force India’s Esteban Ocon, causing both of them to spin out. Verstappen continued in the race and still finished second, but gave up the win to Lewis Hamilton.

Lewis Hamilton Wins Brazilian GP, His 10th Race of 2018

Start Of The Race

There was a possibility of rain during the race, but it never came. Hamilton was on pole position starting the race, sharing the front row with Sebastian Vettel. On the first lap Valtteri Bottas passed Vettel for second place. On lap three, Verstappen moved up to third place after overtaking Kimi Raikkonen. The two drivers both passed Vettel a lap later. On lap 10, Verstappen took second place after passing Bottas.


Pitstops started on lap 16 with Fernando Alonso being the first to change tyres. Bottas and Hamilton pitted with the rest of the frontrunners staying out. On lap 36, Verstappen came in. Once Daniel Ricciardo pitted, Verstappen regained the lead after a short battle with Hamilton.

The first retirement of the race came on lap 21 when Marcus Ericsson spun out. He made no contact with walls but made his way to the pitlane to finish his race day. Later on in the race Renault’s Nico Hulkenberg retired as well.

End Of The Race

Verstappen was on pace to win the race until he collided with Ocon on lap 44. The incident paved the way for Hamilton to pass Verstappen and have a safe lead to the chequered flag. After the race in the paddock Verstappen had a confrontation with Ocon, shoving him many times. The podium was made up of all three big teams, with Raikkonen coming in third. Bottas finished fifth, with Mercedes outscoring Ferrari enough to clinch the World Constructors’ Championship.

Full Timing Sheet

Pos # Driver Team Gap Pit Stops Points
1 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1 25
2 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing +1.469 1 18
3 7 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari +4.764 1 15
4 3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing +5.193 1 12
5 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes +22.943 2 10
6 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari +26.997 2 8
7 16 Charles Leclerc Sauber +44.199 1 6
8 8 Romain Grosjean Haas +51.230 1 4
9 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas +52.857 1 2
10 11 Sergio Perez Force India +1 LAP 1 1
11 28 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso +1 LAP 1
12 55 Carlos Sainz Renault +1 LAP 2
13 10 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso +1 LAP 1
14 2 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren +1 LAP 1
15 31 Esteban Ocon Force India +1 LAP 2
16 35 Sergey Sirotkin Williams +2 LAPS 1
17 14 Fernando Alonso McLaren +2 LAPS 2
18 18 Lance Stroll Williams +2 LAPS 2
19 27 Nico Hulkenberg Renault OUT 1
20 9 Marcus Ericsson Sauber OUT 2

Embed from Getty Images