Alabama Crimson Tide All-Decade Team: 2010-2019

Georgia vs Alabama Preview
Spread the love

Offensive team

As we unveil our Alabama Crimson Ride All-Decade Team, we begin on the offensive side of the ball. Usually, the Crimson Tide are recognized for their greatness on the defensive side of the ball. However, there have been many elite players on the offensive side of the ball under head coach Nick Saban. First, Tua Tagovailoa is the most explosive, dynamic, and hungry passer for the Tide. In fact, in 32 games in three seasons, Tagovailoa passed for 7,442, 87 touchdowns, only 11 interceptions on 474 completions (out 684 attempts).

Next, the 2015 Heiman Trophy running back in Derrick Henry led all of the College Football in rushing yards (2,219 yards) and touchdowns (28). Henry ran all over the Clemson Tigers in the National Championship game with three touchdowns. At the other running back, Trent Richardson was a unanimous All-American and Doak Walker Award winner in 2011. Richardson rushed for 1,679 yards and 21 touchdowns on 283 carries.

Wide receiver Amari Cooper is the Tide’s career leader in receptions (228), receiving yards (3,463), and touchdowns (31). At the other wide receiver, Jerry Jeudy has accounted for 145 receptions for 2,478 yards, and 24 touchdowns in two dominant seasons. Tight end O.J. Howard made the biggest plays in the biggest games for the Tide. In addition, he accounted for 208 yards and two touchdowns on five receptions in the championship game against the Clemson Tigers.

Jonah Williams was a starter as a freshman and was a two-time All-SEC selection. Equally important, Cam Robinson is one of four Crimson Tide offensive linemen to win the Outland award. Barrett Jones is also an Outland Award winner and was a versatile lineman for Alabama. Guard Chance Warmack was part of three National Championship teams and was one of the best-run blockers for Alabama. Ryan Kelly is the most recent Rimington Award winner for the nation’s best center.

Defensive team

As we continue looking at the Alabama Crimson Tide All-Decade team, we turn our attention to the defense. The Crimson Tide have seen many elite defenders that have gone on to be either first-round picks in the NFL Draft or be NFL standouts. Defensive end Jonathan Allen was the premier playmaker for three solid seasons. Allen accounted for 152 total tackles, 44.5 tackles for loss, and 28 sacks in his Tide career. In fact, in just one season, defensive tackle Quinnen Williams became one of the top defenders in the nation. Williams accounted for 71 total tackles, 19.5 tackles for loss, and eight sacks in 2018.

At the other defensive tackle, A’Shawn Robinson had three consistent seasons and was a consensus All-American in 2015. Comparatively, defensive end, Marcell Dareus started off 2010 with a big performance against the Texas Longhorns in the BCS National Championship. At outside linebacker, Tim Williams accounted for 27.5 tackles for loss and 18.5 sacks in two seasons.

At the other linebacker positions, C.J. Mosley and Reuben Foster are two of the Tide’s four Butkus Award winners. Mosley is a two-time consensus All-American, who has accounted for 317 total tackles and 23 tackles for loss. Foster accounted for 116 total tackles in his All-American season. Cornerback Dee Milliner accounted for 34 career pass breakups and 18 in his last year. Minkah Fitzpatrick was one of the most versatile defensive backs to play for the Crimson Tide under coach Saban. In his three-year career, he has accounted for 171 total tackles, 16.5 tackles for loss, and 24 pass deflections. Safety Ha Ha Clinton-Dix was another player that was excellent in huge games for the Crimson Tide. Safety Landon Collins was the Tide’s top defender in 2014 with 99 total tackles, 4.5 tackles for loss, and seven pass deflections.

Special teams

In general, the kicking game has been a headache for the Crimson Tide under coach Saban. However, kicker Jeremy Shelley was 21-of-27 from field goals in his junior year. Additionally, he kicked five goals against LSU in the 2012 National Championship game. He was 11-for-11 in his senior year. JK Scott was the established punter in four straight seasons for the Crimson Tide. In his four-year career, Scott punted the ball 243 times for 11,074 yards, averaging 45.6 yards per punt.

Of course, wide receiver Christion Jones was one of the most underrated return specialists for the Tide. Jones accounted for 1,727 kickoff return yards and two touchdowns on 68 returns. He also accounted for three punt return touchdowns and 719 punt return yards. Finally, we have Kenyan Drake who was one of the most recent dynamic playmakers for the Crimson Tide. He accounted for 1,495 rushing yards and 18 touchdowns on 233 rushes as well as 504 reception yards and four receiving touchdowns on 46 receptions.

Alabama Crimson Tide All-Decade Team: 2010-2019

QB Tua Tagovailoa (2017-2019)
RB Derrick Henry(2013-2015)
RB Trent Richardson (2009-2011)
WR Amari Cooper (2012-2014)
WR Jerry Jeudy (2017-2019)
TE O.J. Howard (2013-2016)
OT Jonah Williams (2016-2018)
OT Cam Robinson (2014-2016)
G Barrett Jones (2008-2012)
G Chance Warmack (2009-2012)
C Ryan Kelly (2011-2015)

DE Jonathan Allen (2013-2016)
DT Quinnen Williams (2016-2018)
DT A’Shawn Robinson (2013-2015)
DE Marcell Dareus (2008-2010)
LB Tim Williams (2013-2016)
LB C.J. Mosley (2010-2013)
LB Reuben Foster (2012-2016)
CB Dee Milliner (2010-2012)
CB Minkah Fitzpatrick (2015-2017)
S Ha Ha Clinton-Dix (2011-2013)
S Landon Collins (2012-2014)

K Jeremy Shelley (2009-2012)
P JK Scott (2014-2017)
KR/PR Christion Jones (2011-2014)
AP Kenyan Drake (2012-2015)

Embed from Getty Images