Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

Logano & Team Penske earn first Daytona 500 Pole, Ford full front row

Joey Logano, driver of the #22 Shell Pennzoil Ford, (R) winner of the Daytona 500 pole award and Michael McDowell, driver of the #34 Love's Travel Stops Ford, Front Row second fastest winner pose for a photo during qualifying for the NASCAR Cup Series Daytona 500 at Daytona International Speedway on February 14, 2024 in Daytona Beach, Florida. daytona 500 pole

Joey Logano, 2015 Daytona 500 Champion earns Team Penske its first Daytona 500 Pole Award, Michael McDowell will start second.

Ford’s new Darkhorse Mustang Cup Series body has come out swinging. In his #22 Shell/Pennzoil Ford Mustang, Joey Logano set a 49.465 second lap around the Daytona International Speedway. Michael McDowell driving, 2021 Daytona 500 Champion will start second. Ford had two other drivers, Austin Cindric, the 2022 winner, and Harrison Burton inside the top ten in qualifying.

Logano continues the streak of Team Penske’s racing successes. Starting with the Indy 500 and Coke 600 sweep last May, a Cup Series Championship, a Rolex 24 overall victory, and now a Daytona 500 Pole.

Hendrick Motorsports Pole streak falls:

For the first time since 2014, a Hendrick Motorsports powered Chevrolet did not win the pole. Alex Bowman’s streak of six consecutive front-row starts falls as he did not qualify inside the top ten. Kyle Larson, William Byron, and Chase Elliott made the second round but were not fast enough to earn a top-two spot.

The trio from Hendrick Motorsports was joined by several fellow Chevrolet teammates. From Richard Childress Racing, Kyle Busch, and Austin Dillon, 2018 winner of the Daytona 500. From Trackhouse Racing, Ross Chastain, in his new Busch Light #1 Camaro. No Toyotas qualified inside the top ten, leaving them to earn spots based on finishing positions in the two duel races.

Out of the open drivers looking to lock into the Daytona 500, David Ragan and Anthony Alfredo locked themselves into the 500 by their lap times. Kaz Grala did not make a lap as an issue with the shifter linkage caused him to abort the lap. Jimmie Johnson will have to race his way into the Daytona 500, along with

Line-ups for the Duels at Daytona:

With qualifying finished, it is time for the Twin 125 qualifier races. The Bluegreen Vacations Duel at Daytona are two 125-mile races where the finishing position for the race sets your starting position for the Daytona 500. The first 125 sets the inside positions and the second sets the outside starting positions. The line-ups for the 2024 Bluegreen Vacations Duels are:

Bluegreen Vacations Duel No. 1 lineup

* Open, non-Charter team

1 22 Joey Logano
2 5 Kyle Larson
3 9 Chase Elliott
4 3 Austin Dillon
5 1 Ross Chastain
6 38 Todd Gilliland
7 41 Ryan Preece
8 17 Chris Buescher
9 48 Alex Bowman
10 99 Daniel Suárez
11 62 Anthony Alfredo*
12 43 Erik Jones
13 31 Daniel Hemric
14 19 Martin Truex Jr.
15 54 Ty Gibbs
16 47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
17 7 Corey LaJoie
18 84 Jimmie Johnson*
19 45 Tyler Reddick
20 77 Carson Hocevar
21 44 JJ Yeley*


Bluegreen Vacations Duel No. 2 lineup

*Open, non-Charter team

1 34 Michael McDowell
2 2 Austin Cindric
3 24 William Byron
4 8 Kyle Busch
5 21 Harrison Burton
6 15 Riley Herbst
7 14 Chase Briscoe
8 10 Noah Gragson
9 12 Ryan Blaney
10 16 AJ Allmendinger
11 4 Josh Berry
12 6 Brad Keselowski
13 60 David Ragan*
14 23 Bubba Wallace
15 51 Justin Haley
16 20 Christopher Bell
17 11 Denny Hamlin
18 71 Zane Smith
19 42 John H. Nemechek
20 78 BJ McLeod*
21 36 Kaz Grala*

With the Daytona 500 Pole awarded, it is time to set the starting positions for the other 38 positions. The Bluegreen Vacations Duels start at 7 PM Eastern time, with TV coverage on FS1 and MRN.


More Posts

Send Us A Message