IndyCar: Detroit Grand Prix Preview

Detroit Grand Prix - Joe Skibinski/Penske Entertainment

After a wild and controversial ending to the 107th running of The Indianapolis 500, the IndyCar Series moves on to downtown Detroit for the Detroit Grand Prix.

Race weekend: June 2 – June 4

Track: Downtown Detroit Street Circuit, a 1.7-mile, nine-turn temporary street course (runs counterclockwise)

Race distance: 100 laps/170 miles

Push-to-pass parameters: 150 seconds of total time with a maximum time of 15 seconds per activation

Tire allotment: Seven sets primary, four sets alternate. Teams must use one set of primary and one new set of alternate tires in each race. One additional set available to teams fielding a rookie driver is available for the first session of the weekend.

2022 Race Winner: Will Power, Team Penske

2022 Pole Winner: Josef Newgarden, Team Penske – 1:15.2153

How to Watch (All Times EST)

Friday, June 2 

Practice 1 – 3:00 PM, Peacock

Saturday, June 3

Practice 2 – 9:05 AM, Peacock

Qualifying – 1:20 PM, Peacock

Sunday, June 4

Warmup – 10:00 AM, Peacock

Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix – 3:00 PM, NBC (Green Flag at 3:30)

Race Notes

  • There have been five different winners in six IndyCar Series races to start the 2023 season. Marcus Ericsson (St. Petersburg), Josef Newgarden (Texas and Indianapolis), Kyle Kirkwood (Long Beach), Scott McLaughlin (Barber Motorsports Park), and Alex Palou (Indianapolis Road Course) have all won in 2023.
  • Will Power, Scott Dixon, and Helio Castroneves each won three times at the Belle Isle and are tied for most wins by an IndyCar driver in the Detroit Grand Prix.
  • Milestones: Scott Dixon will attempt to make his 312th consecutive start, the second-longest streak in IndyCsr history. Santino Ferrucci will attempt to make his 50th IndyCar star. Ferrucci made his debut at Belle Isle in 2018.




Helio Castroneves


2000, 2001, 2014 Race #2

Scott Dixon


2012, 2018 Race #1, 2019 Race #2

Will Power


2014 Race #1, 2016 Race #2, 2022

Graham Rahal


2017 Race #1, 2017 Race #2

Simon Pagenaud


2013 Race #2

Josef Newgarden


2019 Race #1

Marcus Ericsson


2021 Race #1

Pato O’Ward


2021 Race #2

Detroit Grand Prix Predictions

  • Favorite – Marcus Ericsson
  • Dark Horse – Colton Herta
  • Doubtful – Team Penske
Featured Image Credit: Joe Skibinski/Penske Entertainment