Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

NASCAR Truck Series: Charlotte Predictions and How To Watch

CONCORD, NORTH CAROLINA - MAY 27: Zane Smith, driver of the #38 RTA gigFAST Ford, and Ty Majeski, driver of the #66 American Racing Wheels Toyota, race during the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 27, 2022 in Concord, North Carolina. (Photo by Buda Mendes/Getty Images)

The NASCAR Truck Series is moving down the road from North Wilkesboro to Charlotte Motor Speedway for the NC Education Lottery 200. Here is everything you need to know about the drivers and the race before the green flag drops.

The 2022 pole position was won by Ty Majeski and the second position went to eventual 2022 Truck Series champion Zane Smith. Smith led 52 laps that night, the second-highest of the trucks in the race. The night would see Carson Hocevar battle with Ryan Preece for the race win, with Hocevar leading 57 laps. This duel ended in overtime, when Hocevar drove into turn three too fast, got loose, and wrecked himself and Preece, eliminating both drivers from contention. The final restart saw Ross Chastain and Ben Rhodes line up for a two-lap shootout. On the final lap, the leaders were three wide in Turns 1 and 2. Chastain got a big push from Grant Enfinger on the backstretch, allowing Ross to win and Enfinger to finish second.

The Track:

Built in 1959 by Bruton Smith, Charlotte Motor Speedway is a 1.5-mile speedway with 24 degrees of banking in its turns. It first played host to the Truck Series on May 16th, 2003. Bill Lester earned the pole position for the race, with Jason Leffler and Kevin Harvick making up the top three starting spots. Ted Musgrave won the race, leading 28 laps and Harvick led 70 laps. Kyle Busch holds the record for wins at Charlotte, with 8 wins and an average finish of 2.8.

The 2023 North Carolina Education Lottery 200

The 2023 NC Education Lottery 200 will be contested over 134 laps, with stage breaks at laps 30 and 60 It will be the 20th race run at Charlotte Motor Speedway in the Truck Series.

No Cup Series drivers will be in the field this weekend, but we do have some part-time drivers hoping in the trucks this weekend. They are…

  • Mason Maggio, #22 Ford F150, AM Racing
  • Ryan Vargas, #30 Toyota Tundra, On Point Motorsports
  • Bailey Currey, #41 Chevrolet Silverado, Niece Motorsports
  • Armani Williams, #46 Toyota Tundra, G2G Racing
  • Jack Wood, #51 Chevrolet Silverado, Kyle Busch Motorsports


Majeski earned the pole for this race last year and is coming off a second-place finish at North Wilkesboro last weekend. I think he has the momentum and speed to win on Friday. Carson Hocevar won at the last 1.5-mile track in Texas and led the most laps in this race last year. If he can avoid rookie mistakes, I think he will repeat his speed from last year, and have a chance to win. Lastly, Nick Sanchez has been fast every weekend and has been knocking on the door of his first win. Look for that #2 Silverado to be up front on Friday.

How to Watch:

  • Friday, May 26th, 2023:
    • Practice and Qualifying – 1:30 PM ET, FS1
    • The 2023 North Carolina Education Lottery 200 – 8:00 PM ET, FS1
Featured Image Credit: Buda Mendes/Getty Images


More Posts

Send Us A Message