2023 Formula 3 Lineup: Franco Colapinto moves to MP Motorsport

Franco Colapinto joined MP Motorsport in Formula 3

MP Motorsport has announced that 2022 Formula 3 rookie Franco Colapinto will join them for 2023 after switching from VAR.

Nineteen-year-old Franco Colapinto announced that he will be joining MP Motorsport for the 2023 season. Colapinto made his debut in 2022 for Vans Amersfoort Racing but has decided to switch teams to try and claim the title. He’ll partner with Jonny Edgar and Mari Boya for the upcoming campaign. Colapinto is the 17th driver to be announced overall.

The 2022 Season

After finishing third in the 2021 Asian Le Mans Series, Colapinto joined Formula 3 with Vans Amersfoort Racing. Partnered alongside Reece Ushijima and Rafael Villagomez, the Argentinian dominated his teammates and finished ninth in the standings despite finishing outside the points on eight occasions. Colapinto also managed to take home two Sprint Race wins at the Italian Grand Prix (Imola and Monza) and would add another three podiums over the season.

As well as being announced as a driver for MP Motorsport, Colapinto has also been announced as a member of the Williams Racing Drivers Academy.

Following the announcement, Colapinto stated:

“I only have fond memories of my years in Formula Renault and Formula Regional with the team, a cooperation that resulted in many wins and pole positions. I’m eager to resume the run of success that we have had and fully intend to expand on it. Next year is going to be great!”

Sander Dorsman (Team Principal of MP Motorsport) added:

“It’s so good to be able to welcome Franco back into the MP fold. He’s been outstanding in his two years with us, and in his other two seasons since his promotion from karts Franco was always among our most daunting rivals! With a first season of FIA F3 under his belt, he now carries the weight needed for a consistently frontrunning campaign – and we’re here to help him achieve that.”

2023 Driver Lineup

  • ART Grand Prix: Gregoire Saucy & Nikola Tsolov & Kaylen Frederick
  • Campos Racing: Christian Mansell & TBD & TBD
  • Carlin Racing: Hunter Yeany & TBD & TBD
  • Hitech Grand Prix: Gabriele Mini & TBD & TBD
  • MP Motorsport: Mari Boya & Jonny Edgar & Franco Colapinto
  • PREMA Powertrain: Paul Aron, Dino Beganovic & Zak O’Sullivan
  • Trident Racing: Gabriel Bortoleto, Oliver Goethe & Leonardo Fornaroli
  • Vans Amersfoort Racing: Tommy Smith & Rafael Villagomez & TBD
Featured Image Credit: Photo by Jakub Porzycki/NurPhoto via Getty Images