IndyCar: Santino Ferrucci signs with AJ Foyt Racing

Santino Ferrucci

After two years off from full-time IndyCar competition, 24-year-old Santino Ferrucci will return to the grid in 2023, driving the No. 14 for AJ Foyt Racing.

Ferrucci had two successful seasons with Dale Coyne Racing in 2019 and 2020 but found himself without a full-time ride in both 2021 and 2022. Although he filled in for multiple races throughout those two seasons, Ferrucci obviously wanted another full-time opportunity.

That full-time opportunity has been realized by AJ Foyt Racing, as the Texas-based team announced on Thursday afternoon that Ferrucci would join the team in the No. 14 entry after it was made available by Kyle Kirkwood‘s move to Andretti Autosport.

Speaking on the announcement, Ferrucci said,

“Being a part-time driver over the last two years has been hard for me, personally. I’m a racecar driver and I want to compete. Working with different teams has been exciting, and I’m proud that no matter which car I’ve raced, I’ve always shown speed and consistency.”

The Connecticut native will partner up with Dane Benjamin Pedersen at Foyt next year, who will make his IndyCar race debut.  Dalton Kellett, who drove the No. 4 entry for Foyt in 2022, is hoping to retain his seat, but his return has yet to be announced.

After this latest announcement, here is how the 2023 lineup is looking.

Current 2023 IndyCar Driver Lineup

  • A.J. Foyt Racing: Santino Ferrucci, Benjamin Pedersen, TBD
  • Andretti Autosport: Colton Herta, Kyle Kirkwood, Romain Grosjean, Devlin Defrancesco
  • Arrow McLaren SP: Pato O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist, Alexander Rossi
  • Chip Ganassi Racing: Marcus Ericsson, Scott Dixon, Alex Palou
  • Dale Coyne Racing: David Malukas, TBD
  • Ed Carpenter Racing: Conor Daly, Rinus VeeKay
  • Juncos Hollinger Racing: Callum Ilott, TBD
  • Meyer Shank Racing: Helio Castroneves, Simon Pagenaud
  • Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing: Graham Rahal, Christian Lundgaard, Jack Harvey
  • Team Penske: Josef Newgarden, Scott McLaughlin, Will Power

Note: This list does not include part-time or Indianapolis 500-only entries, such as Simona de Silvestro or J.R. Hildebrand.

Featured Image Credit: Joe Skibinski/Penske Entertainment