IndyCar: Gallagher Grand Prix qualifying roundup

INDIANAPOLIS — Felix Rosenqvist‘s car was solid all day, which led him to his second pole position of the season for tomorrow’s Gallagher Grand Prix, but it was quite the opposite for his Arrow McLaren SP teammate Pato O’Ward. After multiple off-track excursions in practice on Friday morning, the young Mexican star wrestled his No. 5 Chevy into third, making it a 1-3 for AMSP.

Josef Newgarden made a triumphant return from his scary fall at Iowa, advancing through the first and second rounds on his way to qualifying in fifth for tomorrow’s race. Sitting 34 points back in the championship standings, the Nashville native will be looking for big points come tomorrow.

Marcus Ericsson‘s return to Indianapolis is off to a rough start, on a weekend that he desperately needs a good result to hold on to his championship lead. Those hopes came to a halt at Turn 5 in qualifying, where the Swede’s No. 8 machine suffered a terminal issue, causing the Indianapolis 500 winner to start at the very back of the field in 25th.

Christian Lundgaard made a splash in his return to the track at which he began his IndyCar journey, and once again put himself into the Fast 6. The Danish rookie driving for Rahal will roll off in sixth for the Gallagher Grand Prix, which will certainly assist him in his fight against David Malukas for rookie of the year.

Starting Grid:

1. Felix Rosenqvist, Arrow McLaren Sp

2. Alexander Rossi, Andretti Autosport

3. Pato O’Ward, Arrow McLaren SP

4. Will Power, Team Penske

5. Josef Newgarden, Team Penske

6. Christian Lundgaard

7. Alex Palou, Chip Ganassi Racing

8. Rinus VeeKay, Ed Carpenter Racing

9. Colton Herta, Andretti Autosport

10. Conor Daly, Ed Carpenter Racing

11. David Malukas, Dale Coyne Racing

12. Simon Pagenaud, Meyer Shank Racing

13. Jack Harvey, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

14. Devlin Defrancesco, Andretti Autosport

15. Scott McLaughlin, Team Penske

16. Helio Castroneves, Meyer Shank Racing

17. Graham Rahal, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

18. Takuma Sato, Dale Coyne Racing

19. Callum Ilott, Juncos Hollinger Racing

20. Scott Dixon, Chip Ganassi Racing

21. Kyle Kirkwood, A.J. Foyt Racing

22. Romain Grosjean, Andretti Autosport

23. Jimmie Johnson, Chip Ganassi Racing

24. Dalton Kellett, A.J Foyt Racing

25. Marcus Ericsson, Chip Ganassi Racing

Tomorrow’s race

Gallagher Grand Prix – Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course

Noon EST on NBC (Green flag at 12:30)

85 laps – 207.32 miles

Read On: Alex Palou facing championship battle along with lawsuit

TOP IMAGE: Matt Fraver/Penske Entertainment