JR Motorsports announces new Crew Chief for Michael Annett’s 5 Car

Spread the love

Following a P15 finish at Iowa Speedway that saw Michael Annett and the No. 5 car fall further out of the playoffs, JR Motorsports has announced that the team is making a change. Starting at Watkins Glen International this Saturday, Annett and the No. 5 team will be lead by a new crew chief: Travis Mack. 

JR Motorsports announces new Crew Chief for Michael Annett’s 5 Car

“We are constantly building toward the team’s future,” said JRM’s director of competition, Ryan Pemberton, in a release. “At this point in the season, it was time for us to evaluate where the No. 5 team was and where we wanted it to be moving forward. It became clear a change was necessary.”

Mack has worked with Hendrick Motorsports and JRM in the past, being the car chief from the 2014 NXS champion No. 9 car. He also worked with Kasey Kahne and Leavine Family Racing before his return to the JRM Xfinity program.

“I’m very grateful to be able to return to JR Motorsports,” Mack said in a release. “To have been here previously as car chief and now to come back as a crew chief is a tremendous opportunity. I can’t thank Dale Jr. and Kelley enough for that. I’m looking forward to getting started with the No. 5 team this weekend.”

Previous crew chief Jason Stockert will move into another role with the organization. Annett, just over a month ago, signed on to JRM through the 2019 season along with his Pilot Flying J sponsorship.

“I want to thank Jason (Stockert) for all he’s done for the organization in building the No. 5 team from the ground up,” Pemberton added in the same release. “But we’re also looking forward to a new chapter with Travis (Mack). He’s a familiar face to many within the company and we’re excited to put his talents to use with Michael and the Pilot Flying J team.”

Annett and his team currently sit 40 points out of a playoff spot with seven races to go until the post-season.

Playoff Grid
Seven races until Playoffs
1. Christopher Bell (4 wins)
2. Justin Allgaier (2 wins*)
3. Tyler Reddick (1 win)
4. Elliott Sadler +285
5. Cole Custer +283
6. Daniel Hemric +278
7. Brandon Jones +178
8. Ryan Truex +131
9. Matt Tifft +103
10. Austin Cindric +83
11. Ryan Reed +55
12. Ross Chastain +1
Playoff Cutoff
13. John Hunter Nemechek, -1
14. Michael Annett -40
15. Ryan Sieg -66
*Driver has two wins, but only one can be used for the playoffs.

Embed from Getty Images