Formula E – History Will Be Made With the Zurich E-Prix

Spread the love

The ABB FIA Formula E Championship returns with round ten next weekend (June 10, 2018). The E-Prix will take place in Zurich, Switzerland for the inaugural 2018 Zurich E-Prix. The 2018 Zurich E-Prix will be the first time in over 60 years a circuit race will be held in Switzerland since the racing ban in 1955. This was due to a fatal accident that occurred at Le Mans that year. The 2018 Zurich E-Prix will be the first race held in the country since the ban was lifted in 2007.

Formula E- History Will be Made in Zurich, Switzerland


The circuit will use normal streets in Zurich alongside Enge Harbor. The Zurich Street Circuit is 2.46 km (1.53 miles) in length. It consists of 11 corners, which the teams will race along the lakeside. They will head past the Arboretum before bearing left, into the historic city center and then loop back to the start/finish line in front of Enge Harbor. This circuit looks small but should create a great race with plenty of driver battles along the entire lap of the circuit.

Hometown Heroes

The Swiss drivers currently racing will be excited about their first home race ever. Sebastien Buemi of Renault e.dams will be looking to impress his hometown fans with a great race on Saturday. Buemi, the Formula E season two champion, sits fifth in the Drivers’ Championship with 82 points.

Daniel Abt of Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler sits fourth with 85 points, only three points ahead of Buemi. So Buemi will be looking to move up the standings with a great race at the 2018 Zurich E-Prix. His team sits fifth in the Constructors’ Championship and are only 7 points behind Panasonic Jaguar Racing.

Another Swiss driver making his home debut is Formula E rookie Edoardo Mortara. The Venturi Formula E driver missed both rounds in Berlin due to DTM duties but he will definitely be excited to be back. The Swiss driver currently sits eleventh in the Drivers’ Championship, two points ahead of his teammate Maro Engel.

Mortara will be looking to beat his teammate in hopes of securing a drive for next season. Venturi Formula E signed ex-Formula 1 driver Felipe Massa for 2019. So, the current drivers will be trying to outdo one another to secure that final spot.

Driver Standings

Pos Driver Points
1 Jean-Eric Vergne 162
2 Sam Bird 122
3 Felix Rosenqvist 86
4 Daniel Abt 85
5 Sebastien Buemi 82
6 Lucas di Grassi 76
7 Mitch Evans 51
8 Nelson Piquet Jr. 45
9 Oliver Turvey 44
10 Andre Lotterer 43
11 Edoardo Mortara 29
12 Maro Engel 27
13 Nick Heidfeld 22
14 Alex Lynn 17
15 Antonio Felix da Costa 16
16 Jose Maria Lopez 14
17 Jerome d’Ambrosio 12
18 Nicolas Prost 7
19 Tom Blomqvist 4
20 Luca Filippi 1
21 Tom Dillmann 0
22 Kamui Kobayashi 0
23 Ma Qing Hua 0
24 Neel Jani 0
25 Stephane Sarrazin 0

Team Standings

Pos Team Points
1 Techeetah 205
2 Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler 161
3 DS Virgin Racing 139
4 Mahindra Racing 108
5 Panasonic Jaguar Racing 96
6 Renault e.Dams 89
7 Venturi Formula E Team 56
8 NIO Formula E team 45
9 Dragon Racing 26
10 MS&AD Andretti Formula E 20

How to Watch

For details on where to watch the 2018 Zurich E-Prix in your country visit here:

Live streaming is available in selected markets on, the official Formula E app, YouTube, and Facebook.

Embed from Getty Images