Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

Lewis Hamilton Takes Pole In Italian Grand Prix Qualifying

With Formula 1 returning to Monza this weekend, it was Lewis Hamilton who took pole position for Sunday’s Italian Grand Prix for Mercedes, marking his fifth pole position in Italy. Nico Rosberg will start on the front row of the grid in second place while Sebastian Vettel will start in third.

Lewis Hamilton Takes Pole In Italian Grand Prix Qualifying

Qualifying 1

In the first qualifying session of the weekend for Formula 1, it was Lewis Hamilton who was the pace setter, with his Mercedes team mate, Nico Rosberg being in a close second place while Sebastian Vettel was in third. Q1 marked the exit of six drivers from qualifying. Making an early exit for Manor was Esteban Ocon, with the French driver, who made his debut last weekend in Belgium, breaking down at the start of his first flying lap. Also making an exit from Q1 were both Sauber cars and both Renaults. Starting alongside Esteban Ocon will be Kevin Magnussen. Magnussen’s team mate, Jolyon Palmer, qualified in twentieth place. Felipe Nasr qualified in eighteenth while Marcus Ericsson qualified in nineteenth. Making an exit in Q1 for the second race in succession was Toro Rosso’s Daniil Kvyat who qualified in seventeenth place, marking his best qualifying position for the Italian Grand Prix.

17. Daniil Kvyat, Toro Rosso, 1m23.825s, 18. Felipe Nasr, Sauber, 1m23.956s, 19. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber, 1m24.087s, 20. Jolyon Palmer, Renault, 1m24.230, 21. Kevin Magnussen, Renault, 1m24.436s, 22. Esteban Ocon, Manor, No time set

Qualifying 2

In Q2 it was once again Lewis Hamilton who was fastest, being followed by Nico Rosberg who was three tenths of a second down on his team mate. Sebastian Vettel was once again third. Being knocked out in Q2 in his final Italian Grand Prix qualifying session was Felipe Massa for Williams. Qualifying in twelfth place was Romain Grosjean for Haas. Grosjean however, has a five place grid penalty and will start in seventeenth place. Fernando Alonso qualified in thirteenth place, once again out qualifying Jenson Button for McLaren. Button qualified in fifteenth. Carlos Sainz rounded out Q2, qualifying in sixteenth place. Surprise of the session goes to Pascal Wehrlein, who will start the Italian Grand Prix in thirteenth place tomorrow following Grosjean’s penalty.

11. Felipe Massa, Williams, 1m22.967s, 12. Romain Grosjean, Haas, 1m23.092s, 13. Fernando Alonso, McLaren, 1m23.273, 14. Pascal Wehrlein, Manor, 1m23.315, 15. Jenson Button, McLaren, 1m23.399, 16. Carlos Sainz Jr, Toro Rosso, 1.23.496s

Qualifying 3

In Q3, Lewis Hamilton was again fastest, marking his fifth pole position at the Italian Grand Prix. Starting alongside Hamilton on the front row of the grid will be his Mercedes team mate and championship rival, Nico Rosberg. Making up the second row of the grid for tomorrow’s race will be the two Ferraris of Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen. Williams’ Valtteri Bottas will start in fifth place, out qualifying both Red Bull cars and Force India cars. Daniel Ricciardo will start in sixth place, ahead of his Red Bull team mate, Max Verstappen who will start in seventh place. Sergio Perez will start in eighth  place, followed by his team mate, Nico Hulkenberg in ninth. Esteban Gutierrez will round out the top 10 for Haas, marking the team’s first appearance in qualifying 3 this season.

Qualifying Times:

  1. Lewis Hamilton, Mercedes, 1m21.135s
  2. Nico Rosberg, Mercedes, 1m21.613s
  3. Sebastian Vettel, Ferrari, 1m21.972s
  4. Kimi Raikkonen, Ferrari, 1m22.065s
  5. Valtteri Bottas, Williams, 1m22.388s
  6. Daniel Ricciardo, Red Bull Racing, 1m22.389s
  7. Max Verstappen, Red Bull Racing, 1m22.411s
  8. Sergio Perez, Force India, 1m22.814s
  9. Nico Hulkenberg, Force India, 1m22.836s
  10. Esteban Gutierrez, Haas, 1m23.184s
  11. Felipe Massa, Williams, 1m22.967s (Q2)
  12. Romain Grosjean, Haas, 1m23.092s (Q2) +5 positions
  13. Fernando Alonso, McLaren, 1m23.273 (Q2)
  14. Pascal Wehrlein, Manor, 1m23.315 (Q2)
  15. Jenson Button, McLaren, 1m23.399 (Q2)
  16. Carlos Sainz Jr, Toro Rosso, 1.23.496s (Q2)
  17. Daniil Kvyat, Toro Rosso, 1m23.825s (Q1)
  18. Felipe Nasr, Sauber, 1m23.956s (Q1)
  19. Marcus Ericsson, Sauber, 1m24.087s (Q1)
  20. Jolyon Palmer, Renault, 1m24.230S (Q1)
  21. Kevin Magnussen, Renault, 1m24.436s (Q1)
  22. Esteban Ocon, Manor, No time set (Q1)

Main Photo


More Posts

Send Us A Message