Pierre Gasly Secures GP2 Pole In Italy

In a closely contested qualifying session for the GP2 Feature Race at Monza, it was Prema Racing’s Pierre Gasly who was successful, taking another pole position and a further four points for his championship challenge.

Pierre Gasly Secures GP2 Pole In Italy

It will be Pierre Gasly who will start in pole position for tomorrow’s GP2 Feature Race ahead of this weekend’s Italian Grand Prix. Starting alongside Gasly will be GP2’s hot new rookie Antonio Giovinazzi who started in pole position for last weekend’s Belgian GP2 Feature Race. This marks yet another front row lock out for Prema Racing in their first season in the GP2 Series. Giovinazzi was only 0.054 seconds from taking pole off his team mate, in what would have marked his third pole positon of the season.

Artem Markelov will start in a GP2 career best third place for Russian Time, 0.349 seconds behind the pole time. Markelov’s team mate, Raffaele Marciello will start in thirteenth place. Starting alongside Markelov will be Arthur Pic for Rapax. Mitch Evans rounded out the top five positions in qualifying, starting tomorrow’s race in fifth place for Campos Racing.

Britain’s Jordan King and Alex Lynn will start in sixth and seventh place for Racing Engineering and DAMS. Qualifying in the top ten for the first time in his GP2 career will be Nabil Jeffri for Arten International. Title hopefuls Sergey Sirotkin and Norman Nato will start in ninth and tenth place for tomorrow’s feature race.

Qualifying Times:
  1. Pierre Gasly, Prema Racing, 1m31.199s
  2. Antonio Giovinazzi, Prema Racing, 1m31.253s
  3. Artem Markelov, Russian Time, 1m31.548s
  4. Arthur Pic, Rapax, 1m31.617s
  5. Mitch Evans, PERTAMINA Campos Racing, 1m31.666s
  6. Jordan King, Racing Engineering, 1m31.710s
  7. Alex Lynn, DAMS, 1m31.775s
  8. Nabil Jeffri, Arden International, 1m31.795s
  9. Sergey Sirotkin, ART Grand Prix, 1m31.816s
  10. Norman Nato, Racing Engineering, 1m31.845s
  11. Luca Ghiotto, Trident, 1m31.855s
  12. Oliver Rowland, MP Motorsport, 1m31.864s
  13. Raffaele Marciello, Russian Time, 1m31.986s
  14. Nobuharu Matsushita, ART Grand Prix, 1m32.037s
  15. Marvin Kirchhofer, Carlin, 1m32.172s
  16. Nicholas Latifi, DAMS, 1m32.192s
  17. Sergio Canamasas, Carlin, 1m32.196s
  18. Gustav Malja, Rapax, 1m32.215s
  19. Sean Gelael, PERTAMINA Campos Racing, 1m32.481s
  20. Daniel de Jong, MP Motorsport, 1m33.071s
  21. Philo Armand, Trident, 1m33.269s
  22. Jimmy Eriksson, Arden International, 1m33.929s

*Following qualifying, it has been announced that Antonio Giovinazzi and Nabil Jeffri will start from the back of the grid after being disqualified from qualifying. The pair were disqualified after failing to comply with technical regulations, having insufficient tyre pressures. This will promote Artem Markelov onto the front row of the grid alongside Pierre Gasly. Arthur Pic will start in third.

Main Photo