Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

2023 Formula 3 Lineup: Sebastian Montoya joins Hitech

2023 Formula 3 driver Sebastian Montoya.

Hitech has announced their second driver for the 2023 Formula 3 season as Sebastian Montoya becomes the latest driver to graduate.

Seventeen-year-old Sebastian Montoya will be making his full-time Formula 3 debut with Hitech for the 2023 Formula 3 season. He will be joining fellow rookie Gabriele Mini. Montoya is the 20th driver to be announced for the upcoming season and is the son of ex-F1 driver Juan Pablo Montoya.

2022 Season

Montaya spent his 2022 season racing in the Formula Regional European Championship for PREMA. Despite scoring no wins or podiums and finishing 13th in the standings, Montoya got his Formula 3 debut in Zandvoort with Campos Racing after Hunter Yeany sustained an injury. Qualifying seventh in the race, Montoya was able to finish both races in eighth place – crucially defending off title contender Jak Crawford. Picking up seven points that weekend he finished 21st in the standings.

In September, Montoya participated in the Formula 3 post-season test alongside Mini. As of January, he became a member of the Red Bull Junior Team. Montoya and Mini both raced against each during the 2022 season, so it will be interesting to see whether the partnership can work in harmony.

Following the announcement, Montoya stated:

“We will all work together to have a great year and fight at the front consistently. I just want to say thank you to my family and everyone else involved. Let’s bring on the season and give it everything.”

2023 Drivers Lineup

Montoya is using the winter break to sharpen his skills by competing in the Formula Regional Middle Eastern Championship for Hitech. The series lasts five weeks and will be held around the UAE (United Arab Emirates).

  • ART Grand Prix: Gregoire Saucy & Nikola Tsolov & Kaylen Frederick
  • Campos Racing: Christian Mansell & TBD & TBD
  • Carlin Racing: Hunter Yeany & Ollie Gray & TBD
  • Hitech Grand Prix: Gabriele Mini & Sebastian Montoya & TBD
  • MP Motorsport: Mari Boya & Jonny Edgar & Franco Colapinto
  • PREMA Powertrain: Paul Aron, Dino Beganovic & Zak O’Sullivan
  • Trident Racing: Gabriel Bortoleto, Oliver Goethe & Leonardo Fornaroli
  • Vans Amersfoort Racing: Tommy Smith & Rafael Villagomez & Caio Collet
Formula Image Credit:  Joe Portlock – Formula 1/Formula Motorsport Limited via Getty Images


More Posts

Send Us A Message