Ranking the six champions of Formula 2

2017 FIA Formula 2 Round 10. Circuito de Jerez, Jerez, Spain. Saturday 7 October 2017. Charles Leclerc (MCO, PREMA Racing). Photo: Zak Mauger/FIA Formula 2. ref: Digital Image _56I6609

Since Formula 2’s inception in 2017, the series has produced six champions. Using statistical analysis, let’s determine how they rank.

Following the rebranding of the GP2 series in 2016, Formula 2 was created the following year and organized by the FIA. Since the rebranding, Formula 2 has crowned six champions, most recently Felipe Drugovich. Let’s analyze the champions.

1. (2017) Charles Leclerc – PREMA Racing

Charles Leclerc became the first driver to clinch the Formula 2 title in 2017. Racing for the Italian-based team PREMA Powerteam and backed by the Ferrari-Drivers Academy, Leclerc would seal the title with three races to go, achieving a 53.4% point-scoring finish. [Note: That means he scored 53.4% of the achievable points that season.] That year he earned eight poles (seven in a row), seven wins, and ten podiums. Leclerc won the championship by seventy-two points over Artem Markelov.

Following his title-winning season, Leclerc graduated to Formula 1 and spent a year in Alfa Romeo Sauber before signing a multi-year contract with Scuderia Ferrari.

2. (2021) Oscar Piastri – PREMA Racing

After claiming the Formula 3 title in his rookie season, Oscar Piastri moved to Formula 2 in 2021. Clinching the title with two races to go, Piastri earning 51.6% of the achievable points and taking six wins and eleven podiums. Piastri would win by 60.5 points over teammate Robert Shwartzman.

In 2022, after a legal battle between Alpine and McLaren, McLaren announced that Piastri would join them for the 2023 Formula 1 season alongside Lando Norris.

3. (2019) Nyck de Vries – ART Grand Prix

Entering his third season of Formula 2 in 2019, Nyck de Vries would prove his doubters wrong as he won the title with three rounds left by fifty-two points ahead of Nicholas Latifi. Taking 50% of the possible points that season, de Vries claimed four wins and twelve podiums.

In 2022, de Vries was announced as a driver for AlphaTauri for the 2023 season alongside Yuki Tsunoda.

4. (2019) George Russell – ART Grand Prix

Similar to Leclerc and Piastri, George Russell would win the 2018 Formula 2 championship in his debut season. Taking seven wins and eleven podiums, Russell achieved a 49.8% points finish and would win the title with one round remaining. Russell would win by 68 points over fellow Brit Lando Norris.

Following the season, Russell moved to Formula 1 where he raced for Williams until joining Mercedes three years later.

5 – (2022) Felipe Drugovich – MP Motorsport

Entering his third season in Formula 2 with MP Motorsport, Felipe Drugovich was in a class of his own. He won the title by 101 points over rival Theo Pourchaire – the highest margin in Formula 2 history. Achieving 48.5% of the possible points that season, Drugovich picked up five wins and eleven podiums sealing the title with three races left despite a DNF.

Drugovich was announced as a Formula 1 Reserve Driver for Aston Martin for the 2023 season.

6. (2020) Mick Schumacher – PREMA Racing

Mick Schumacher was able to narrowly clinch the title by 14 points over Callum Ilott despite only taking two victories. Scoring a 37.8% points finish along with ten podiums, Schumacher won the title during the last race of the championship.

The following year, Schumacher joined Haas in Formula 1 but was dropped after two seasons at the end of 2022. A few weeks following his termination he signed with Mercedes as their Reserve Driver for the 2023 season.

Featured Image Credit: Zak Mauger/FIA Formula 2