F3: Monza Preview, Predictions and How to Watch

Formula 3 Championship - Round 8:Zandvoort - Practice & Qualifying
Spread the love

The season finale of the 2022 Formula 3 campaign has finally arrived at Autodromo Nazionale Monza, with seven drivers still in contention.

After nine intense rounds taking place over a six-month period, the Formula 3 2022 season will finally come to an end at the historic ‘Temple of Speed’. There are still seven drivers mathematically in contention for the championship. ART driver Victor Martins is hoping for a smooth weekend as he narrowly holds a five-point lead over rookie Hitech driver Isack Hadjar. For several of the top contenders, this could be their final weekend in F3.

The Circuit – Autodrome Nazionale di Monza

At 5.793km and featuring 11 corners, Monza is the second shortest track on the F3 calendar after Zandvoort. The current lap record is 1:38.834 which was set by Christian Lungaard in 2019. However, seeing as the cars have progressed throughout the years, it’s likely that the record will be broken this year.

With a long run into Turn 1 and 2 DRS zones, overtaking will be possible. With it being the last round, the seven drivers in contention have to avoid any rookie mistakes.


Rain and thunderstorms are predicted for Friday’s qualifying session but it is expected to clear up and be sunny for the rest of the weekend.

Predictions FR/SR

  • Pole – Victor Martins/Zak O’Sullivan
  • P1 – Victor Martins/David Vidales
  • P2 – Isack Hadjar/Caio Collet
  • P3 – Zane Maloney/Alex Smolyer

Drivers Championship

  1. Victor Martins – 126 points
  2. Isack Hadjar – 121 points
  3. Roman Stanek – 109 points
  4. Ollie Bearman – 105 points
  5. Zane Maloney – 102 points

Team Championship

  1. PREMA Racing – 296 points
  2. Trident – 250 points
  3. ART Grand Prix – 190 points
  4. MP Motorsport– 185 points
  5. Hitech Grand Prix – 148 points

How To Watch

For international coverage, you can find local broadcasters by country here on theΒ F3 Where to WatchΒ page.

Featured Image Credit: Joe Portlock – Formula 1/Formula Motorsport Limited via Getty Images