Thursday Notables for the 59th Knoxville Nationals

Thursday Notables
Spread the love

Night 1 of the 2019 NOS Energy Drink Knoxville Nationals provided a plethora of unpredictable racing, and one that saw a Knoxville Raceway regular take home the A-Main victory.

If Thursday is anything like Wednesday’s action, we’re in for a treat, too.

Thursday Notables for the 59th Knoxville Nationals

Another group of over 50 cars will take to the track and there are even more notable names and storylines in the field for the evening.

Less than 24 hours removed from a night where both Donny Schatz and Kyle Larson – both podium finishers in last year’s Knoxville Nationals – didn’t transfer straight to the A-Main following their respective heats, we could see some funky results.

My favorite storyline coming into this entire week involves a team out of Pennsylvania in the No. 69K of Lance Dewease.

Dewease grabbed two wins during the World of Outlaws three races in his state earlier in the season, prompting his team to make the trip to the season’s biggest show.

After a twitter campaign helped push his crew to committing to it, him and his squad made the trek to Iowa once earlier this year for the Brownells Big Guns Bash and again this week for Nationals.

Another driver with a bit of experience running at Knoxville earlier this season is Parker Price-Miller.

The up-and-coming racer ran a weekly show at Knoxville and earned a win during the weekend of the USAC Corn Belt Nationals at the track.

A pair of the heavy hitters in the USAC National wingless sprint car series raced on Wednesday in Brady Bacon and Kevin Thomas Jr., and another joins them on Thursday.

Tyler Courtney will be lacing up the boots to try and beat the Knoxville veterans.

That’s where Brian Brown and Terry McCarl step in. The two sit atop the Knoxville Championship Cup Series standings and have had years of success at the half-mile raceway.

If either of them get into a rhythm, they could find themselves starting pretty high on Saturday night.

On top of it fans will get to see defending Knoxville Nationals champion and World of Outlaws points leader Brad Sweet as well as some other Outlaws regulars. Hot laps begin at 7:15 p.m. CT.

Thursday Night Entry List
09 – Matt Juhl
1A – Jacob Allen
2 – Carson Macedo
2AU – Andrew Schuerle
2K – Kevin Ingle
3 – Ayrton Gennetten
3C – Cale Conley
3P – Sawyer Phillips
4 – Terry McCarl
K4 – Chad Kemenah
5 – Shane Stewart
7 – Craig Dollansky
7JS – Jason Sides
9JR – Derek Hagar
10 – RJ Johnson
11K – Kraig Kinser
12N – Joey Saldana
14 – Marcus Dumensy
15H – Sam Hafertepe Jr.
15M – Bobby Mincer
17B – Josh Baughman
17BX – Bill Balog
17W – Shane Golobic
17WX – Harli White
17XL – Caleb Helms
18M – Lance Moss
18S – Jason Solwold
W20 – Greg Wilson
21 – Brian Brown
21K – Thomas Kennedy
21P – Robby Price
22 – TBA
24 – Rico Abreau
26 – Cory Eliason
28 – Scott Bogucki
28P – Brian Paulus
29 – Willie Croft
33M – Mason Daniel
39M – Anthony Macri
41 – David Gravel
44 – Chris Martin
49 – Brad Sweet
49J – Josh Schneiderman
49X – Tim Shaffer
55 – Brooke Tatnell
69K – Lance Dewease
70 – Brock Zearfross
71BC – Tyler Courtney
71P – Parker Price-Miller
83 – Daryn Pittman
83C – Adam Cruea
84 – Tom Harris
91 – Cale Thomas
92 – Sye Lynch