Belgian GP – Sebastian Vettel Leads Ferrari 1-2 in FP3

Spread the love

Sebastian Vettel finished on top of the time charts at the Belgian GP at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit on Saturday. The 60-minute long third free practice session started under clear skies and cool conditions. The air temperature was 13 degrees C and the track temperature was 24 degrees C. The Pirelli tyre choice at this race is the white- striped medium tyres, yellow- striped soft tyres, and red- striped supersoft tyres.

Belgian GP – Sebastian Vettel Leads Ferrari 1-2 in FP3

The main takeaways of this session were:

  • The two Ferrari drivers, Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen, topped the timesheets for a Ferrari 1-2.
  • Mercedes drivers, Lewis Hamilton and Valtteri Bottas, were third and fourth.
  • Very little separated the top 3 drivers with a mere 0.137s between them.
  • The championship contenders Vettel and Hamilton both have a shot at pole position, but Raikkonen could surprise.
  • Bottas will start at the back of the grid because of engine penalties, so his qualification simulations were minimal.
  • The Red Bull drivers, Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo, were fifth and sixth, but well off the pace.
  • With less than 10 minutes of the session remaining, Stoffel Vandoorne brought out the red flag as he spun into the barriers. The horror weekend for the Belgian at his home Grand Prix continued.
  • With less than two minutes to go, the session was restarted. All 19 cars, except for Vandoorne, went out to try to get one final lap in.
  • Charles Leclerc was the “best of the rest” at P7.
  • Racing Points Force India was impressive with Sergio Perez and Esteban Ocon P8 and P10 respectively.
  • Nico Hulkenberg was ninth and completed the top 10 positions

The Last Word: On the longest track on the F1 calendar, the Ferrari drivers and Hamilton are extremely close on one lap pace. The driver who delivers the error-free flying lap in Q3 is most likely to take pole position.

Results of Belgian GP Free Practice Session 3 :

Pos No Driver Car Time Gap Laps
1 5 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:42.661 13
2 7 Kimi Räikkönen Ferrari 1:42.724 +0.063s 15
3 44 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:42.798 +0.137s 10
4 77 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 1:43.464 +0.803s 13
5 33 Max Verstappen Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 1:44.048 +1.387s 10
6 3 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing TAG Heuer 1:44.479 +1.818s 13
7 16 Charles Leclerc Sauber Ferrari 1:44.963 +2.302s 12
8 11 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 1:45.341 +2.680s 10
9 27 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 1:45.464 +2.803s 17
10 31 Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 1:45.485 +2.824s 13
11 9 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 1:45.536 +2.875s 11
12 8 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 1:45.814 +3.153s 12
13 55 Carlos Sainz Renault 1:45.925 +3.264s 13
14 20 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 1:46.087 +3.426s 12
15 10 Pierre Gasly Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda 1:46.182 +3.521s 16
16 28 Brendon Hartley Scuderia Toro Rosso Honda 1:46.259 +3.598s 17
17 18 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 1:46.502 +3.841s 10
18 35 Sergey Sirotkin Williams Mercedes 1:46.630 +3.969s 11
19 14 Fernando Alonso McLaren Renault 1:46.942 +4.281s 16
20 2 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Renault 1:47.061 +4.400s 14