Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

Megan Rapinoe, Jill Ellis win big at FIFA’s The Best Awards

Megan Rapinoe and Jill Ellis picked up the FIFA Women's Best Player and Coach of the Year awards last night in Milan, adding more to the trophy shelf.
Rapinoe, Ellis

Milan, Italy — Megan Rapinoe isn’t done collecting awards for her accolades. At 34-years-old, Rapinoe is not showing any signs of slowing down. The Reign FC forward became the fourth American to pick a Women’s World Player of the Year award through FIFA.

She joins the likes of Mia Hamm, Abby Wambach and Carli Lloyd. Rapinoe won the award yesterday in Milan at FIFA’s The Best ceremony. Also picking up an award was Jill Ellis, who claimed Women’s Coach of the Year.

Nominated alongside Rapinoe was Alex Morgan. The two U.S. stars scored six goals and notched three assists at this summer’s Women’s World Cup. Rapinoe took home both the Golden Boot and Ball. Meanwhile, Morgan took home the Silver Boot.

Morgan finished second in the voting. Meanwhile, rounding out the top three was English international Lucy Bronze.

During her speech, Rapinoe asked the crowd, and viewers throughout the world, to lend their resources and talents to grow women’s soccer. This came after FIFA president Gianni Infantino announced that FIFA would grow the women’s game with Nations League, club World Cup tournaments and more.

“For those of you who are just noticing that now, it’s okay,” Rapinoe said. “You’re a little late to the party, but we’ll forgive you. We’re just getting started.”

Meanwhile, Sari van Veenendaal picked up the first-ever FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year award. The Dutch international also won the Golden Glove at this summer’s tournament. She now features for Atlético Madrid in Spain.

FIFA announces first-ever Women’s XI

FIFPro announced that the ceremony would feature the first women’s starting XI. There were five U.S. Women’s National Team players in the group, which included Rapinoe and Morgan. There were some upsets and interesting choices, including adding Marta over Dutch striker Vivianne Miedema.

The following were included on the XI:

  • Goalkeeper: Sari van Veenendaal (NED)
  • Defenders: Wendie Renard (FRA), Lucy Bronze (ENG), Kelley O’Hara (USA), Nilla Fischer (SWE)
  • Midfielders: Amandine Henry (FRA), Rose Lavelle (USA), Julie Ertz (USA)
  • Forwards: Alex Morgan (USA), Megan Rapinoe (USA), Marta (BRA)

Full speeches from Rapinoe, Ellis


Embed from Getty Images


More Posts

Send Us A Message