USWNT win fourth FIFA Women’s World Cup over Netherlands

USWNT win World Cup
Spread the love

Lyon, France (July 7, 2019) — The quest for four stars is complete. The United States Women’s National Team defeated the Netherlands, 2-0, to capture their fourth-ever FIFA Women’s World Cup title.

They were labeled the bad guys. They were shunned by other nations for celebrating, sipping tea and scoring double-digit goals. However, in the end, the USWNT are world champions once again. Megan Rapinoe, donning the captain’s armband, gave the United States the first goal, but Rose Lavelle finished the job.

The United States cruised through the group stage and dominated in the knockout rounds. Meanwhile, the Netherlands — who deserve plenty of credit —went from being World Cup debutants in 2015 to making it all the way to a FIFA World Cup final.

Hats off to them for a great tournament.

In the end, the United States continued to exert their dominance. Jill Ellis has now led the team to its second World Cup title under her tenure. She’s the first coach in USWNT history to win two World Cups.

The United States has now made history, as they increase their World Cup wins over Germany to four. Germany was the first team to win back-to-back World Cup titles, doing it in 2003 and 2007. However, Germany, and other nations, have never made it to three consecutive World Cup finals.

All around, the United States is no stranger to making history.

How it happened for the USWNT 

Megan Rapinoe’s goal came off a penalty kick in the 62nd minute, after Stefanie van der Gragt was called for a high-boot foul against Alex Morgan. Rapinoe lined up a kick, sending it past Sari van Veenendaal, who had an incredible game and first half, countlessly making saves for the Netherlands.

Meanwhile, Rose Lavelle scored on the biggest stage at only 24-years-old. The Cincinnati native slotted a goal past van Veenendaal in the 69th minute, just seven minute after Rapinoe’s goal.

Van Veenendaal ended up winning the Golden Glove after the match, an award given to the best goalkeeper of the tournament. She finished the match with seven saves against the USWNT attacking players.

Meanwhile, the USWNT picked up major hardware. Rapinoe won the Golden Boot and Golden Ball. The Golden Boot is given to the person who scored the most goals at the World Cup, while the Golden Ball goes to the best player. Alex Morgan was awarded the Silver Ball, while Rose Lavelle was given the Bronze Ball.

Lucy Bronze and Ellen white picked up some hardware for England, as Bronze won the Silver Ball and White won the Bronze Boot.

The Goals and big saves! 


Embed from Getty Images