USWNT: Jill Ellis Names 20-Player CONCACAF Championship Roster

Spread the love

CARY, North Carolina (Sept. 19, 2018) — Jill Ellis has her roster set for the upcoming FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifying tournament, the CONCACAF Women’s Championship.

Instead of the usual 23-player roster, Ellis trimmed her roster down to 20 players. Two goalkeepers — Alyssa Naeher and Ashlyn Harris — join 18 field players.

USWNT: Jill Ellis Names 20-Player CONCACAF Championship Roster

Not listed on the roster are McCall Zerboni and Tierna Davidson. Zerboni picked up an elbow injury — which she just had a successful surgery on, North Carolina Courage head coach Paul Riley said before the Courage faced the Chicago Red Stars — against Chile on Sept. 4.

Meanwhile, Davidson’s injury is more recent. After the Chile matches, Davidson returned to Stanford University with her college team. Against the University of North Carolina on Sept. 9, Davidson left the match with an ankle injury.

However, returning in Davidson’s place is a fellow college standout: Hailie Mace of UCLA. Currently a senior, Mace has started in three out of four matches for UCLA this season, scoring two goals.

She is listed on UCLA’s roster as a forward and defender.

Mace wasn’t even born when the United States won its first CONCACAF Women’s Championship title. In 1991, the United States secured its first victory, reclaiming victory in 1994, 2002, 2006 and 2014. However, the team fell against Mexico in the 2010 tournament.

It remains the only loss the USWNT has ever suffered in this tournament.

When is World Cup Qualifying?

The CONCACAF Women’s Championship begins Oct. 4, with group play finishing on Oct. 10. The USWNT have been drawn into Group A with Mexico, Panama and Trinidad & Tobago. Meanwhile, Group B consists of Canada, Costa Rica, Jamaica and Cuba.

Group play will run from Oct. 14-17.

The two teams that make the final round will punch their ticket to the FIFA Women’s World Cup, which will be held in France. Meanwhile, the third-place team that secures victory in the third-place game will also qualify.

The loser of that game — the fourth-place team — will face off with Argentina in a playoff in November.

The Full Roster

Goalkeepers: Ashlyn Harris and Alyssa Naeher.

Defenders: Abby Dahlkemper, Crystal Dunn, Hailie Mace, Kelley O’Hara, Becky Sauerbrunn, Casey Short and Emily Sonnett.

Midfielders: Morgan Brian, Julie Ertz, Lindsey Horan, Rose Lavelle, and Samantha Mewis.

Forwards: Tobin Heath, Carli Lloyd, Alex Morgan, Christen Press, Mallory Pugh, and Megan Rapinoe.

Embed from Getty Images