2021/22 Indigo Group Premiership Team of the Season and awards

Indigo Group Premiership

The 2021/22 Indigo Group Premiership and end of season rewards are revealed after another thrilling season of community rugby.

Indigo Group Premiership Team of the Season

After a season of both an Indigo Group Cup and Premiership, the Team of the Season has been selected by Robert Rees.

  1. Rowan Jenkins (Aberavon)

  2. Will Griffiths (Newport)

  3. Geraint James (Aberavon)

  4. Josh Skinner (Newport)

  5. Kristian Parker (Pontypridd)

  6. Alex Everett (Cardiff)

  7. Tom Daley (Merthyr)

  8. Morgan Allen (Cardiff)
  9. Luke Crane (Newport)

  10. Will Reed (Newport)

  11. Theo Cabango (Cardiff)

  12. Matt O’Brien (Newport)

  13. Cameron Lewis (Newport)

  14. Cam Winnett (Cardiff)

  15. David Richards (Newport)

16. Alun Rees (Cardiff)

17. Ben Stephens (Pontypridd)

18. Ollie Drake (Cardiff)

19. Shay Smallman (Aberavon)

20. Cally James (Pontypridd)

21. Rhodri Cole (Aberavon)

22. Dan Fish (Cardiff)

23. Jacob Beetham (Cardiff)

Try of the season

Some may have already seen this effort, but if you watch it again it’s really not hard to show why this one makes sense as Edd Howley used his noggin to make it over against Swansea in November to book Bridgend a place in the quarter-finals of the Indigo Group Cup.

Unsung Hero

The award which is most heart-warming as it goes to those who won’t get a medal or the main plaudits, but go about their craft to massively help the club.

This season’s winner goes to Simon Latham, who was Newport RFC’s photographer. His work is not only superb, but he follows the club everywhere giving the player’s great joy in looking back over a terrific season for the Black and Ambers.

Find Simon’s work here; Simon Latham (smugmug.com)

Simon in all of his happy glory.

Club of the season

A two-horse race this one. Cardiff took the league, Newport the cup and both would have been worthy winners of this award.

It goes to Newport though on the basis of how far they have come these past few years, winning a first Cup in over 20 years along the way.

Coach of the season

Another one for Newport fans as Head Coach Tyron Morris takes the award for best coach, despite some hot competition from the likes of Steve Law at Cardiff, Ceri Jones up at RGC and Jason Hyatt of Aberavon.

Tyron Morris watches his side prepare for another match. Credit, Simon Latham.

Player of the season

There were several worthy contenders, but one shone slightly brighter than the others. That was Newport’s captain fantastic Matt O’Brien, who not only took his team to Cup glory and within a point of the league double, but also passed 1,000 points for his club along the way.

Matt O’Brien crosses the whitewash for another try.

Supporters Team of the Season

The awards complete with the supporters Indigo group Premiership team of the Season. 11,318 votes were cast culminating in this XV.

1. Rowan Jenkins (Aberavon)

2. Alun Rees (Cardiff)

3. Geraint James (Aberavon)

4. Shay Smallman (Aberavon)

5. Kristian Parker (Pontypridd)

6. Cally James (Pontypridd)

7. Lloyd Evans (Aberavon)

8. Morgan Strong (Bridgend Ravens)

9. Luke Crane (Newport)

10. Will Reed (Newport)

11. Theo Cabango (Cardiff)

12. Matt O’Brien (Newport)

13. Cameron Lewis (Newport)

14. Cameron Winnett (Cardiff)

15. Jacob Beetham (Cardiff)


“Main photo credit”

Club captains at the Indigo Group Premiership launch in Cardiff. Credit WRU.