One week until World Rugby Awards & Decades Greatest presented

One week until World Rugby Awards & Decades Greatest presented

In what will be a virtual awards ceremony, the 2020 World Rugby Awards are to be presented on Monday, November 7. And this year, the sport will also crown publically judged ‘decades greatest’ categories.

World Rugby Hall of Fame inductee Maggie Alphonsi and rugby presenter Alex Payne host the show, which will be available for rugby fans globally to watch via World Rugby digital channels.

The World Rugby Awards special edition will also shine the spotlight on members of the rugby family who showcased great solidarity during the COVID-19 pandemic, supporting their communities, getting involved in relief efforts, and showcasing the sport’s character-building values.

One week until World Rugby Awards presented

Since early October, a public casting of votes was called for in a number of categories to celebrate the end of a decade. One where three Rugby World Cups were held across the globe. A period of terrific growth and expansion of competitions, and an era of professionalism which promoted women’s rugby to new heights of popularity and recognition.

The World Rugby Awards will celebrate the players and teams who have starred over the last decade (2010-19). From Thursday 15 until Sunday 25 October, fans have had their say in determining the winners in six new categories online. Nominees in each category will consist of previous winners over the last decade, with the exception of the Women’s 15s Try of the Decade, for which nominees have been selected by International Rugby Players.

Two categories; Men’s and Women’s 15s Teams of the Decade, will be selected by the elected panel. A stellar team of rugby legends who choose the annual World Rugby Awards player, team, and coach winners.

Men’s 15s Team of the Decade panel: Maggie Alphonsi (ENG), Fiona Coghlan (IRE), Thierry Dusautoir (FRA), George Gregan (AUS), Richie McCaw (NZL), Brian O’Driscoll (IRE), Melodie Robinson (NZL), John Smit (RSA) and Clive Woodward (ENG)

Women’s 15s Team of the Decade panel: Maggie Alphonsi (ENG), Liza Burgess (WAL), Lynne Cantwell (IRE), Fiona Coghlan (IRE), Stephen Jones (ENG), Gaëlle Mignot (FRA), Jillion Potter (USA), Melodie Robinson (NZL), Karl TeNana (NZL) and Danielle Waterman (ENG).

The social media campaign reached far and wide and should reflect the winner’s notoriety and reverence across the rugby-globe.

The selection of player’s for the men and women was your ‘whos who’ of the modern game.

Fans were asked to choose their rugby sevens player’s plus, a try of the decade category. Some fine examples were able to be voted on, and the World Rugby awards will present each recipient with their trophy along with video acceptance speeches [virtually applauded around the globe].

Final winners will be unveiled during the virtual World Rugby Awards on Monday, December 7, 2020


“Main photo credit”
Embed from Getty Images