2020/21 Gallagher Premiership set to start November 21

Gallagher Premiership
Spread the love

The 2020/21 Gallagher Premiership is set to get underway on November 21 following today’s announcement of remaining fixtures for the 2019/20 season. Robert Rees brings you the latest from Premiership Rugby HQ.

November 21 planned starting date

Premiership Rugby today confirmed in their 2019/20 fixture re-launch that next season’s action is planned for a November 21 start, following on from an October 24 final.

See the remaining club calendar here.

PRL working with RFU for test release player

“We’ve had a huge amount of collaboration over 2020 with the RFU and I think we are pretty much done on an agreement for the rest of the year [on player release] that respects the club game,” said Gallagher Premiership Rugby CEO Darren Childs.

Player game time could be limited to aid player welfare

Speaking on whether players could be limited in terms of game time to avoid player welfare issues surrounding midweek fixtures Premiership Rugby’s Rugby Director Phil Winstanley said, “Damian Hopley of the RPA, Conor O’Shea [RFU Director of Performance Rugby] and myself are looking at this. Do we limit the amount of minutes, do we bring in rest periods, do we limit back-to-back games and we will come up with a solution before the start of the season.”

“That’s not finalised yet, but progression has been made.”

BT Sport look set to re-sign TV deal

“We’ve got a great relationship with BT and there are ongoing negotiations that have been happening for some time. Dealing on the COVID issue has refocused everybody and we’ll keep having those conversations.

“It’s too early yet to speak of any specific detail.”


“Main photo credit”

Gallagher Premiership
LONDON, ENGLAND – SEPTEMBER 11: The 12 Director of Rugby for the Gallagher Premiership Rugby sides pose for a photo. From Left to Right: Top – Paul Gustard of Harlequins, Alan Solomons of Worcester Warriors, Steve Diamond of Sale Sharks, Chris Boyd of Northampton Saints, Mark McCall of Saracens, Geordan Murphy of Leicester Tigers and Rob Baxter of Exeter Chiefs. Front – Pat Lam of Bristol Bears, Dai Young of Wasps, Johan Ackermann of Gloucester Rugby, Stuart Hooper of Bath Rugby and Declan Kidney of London Irish poses for a portrait during the Gallagher Premiership Rugby 2019-20 Season Launch at Twickenham Stadium on September 11, 2019 in London, England. The Gallagher Premiership Rugby 2019-20 season kicks off on Friday the 18th of October with Bristol Bears hosting Bath Rugby. (Photo by Harry Trump/Getty Images for Premiership Rugby)