Indigo Group Premiership 2019/20 Team of the Season

John Manders
Spread the love

With the Indigo Group Premiership season cut short, it’s time to look back over the rugby we had and amalgamate the best 23 players that played in the league this season. Robert Rees gives you the Last Word Team of the Season. 

1. Rowan Jenkins (Aberavon)

This season’s loosehead position has been pretty much nailed on. Aberavon‘s forward dominance is majorly down to Jenkins, whose powerful ability at the set piece gave his side a platform to elevate themselves to fresh heights, especially in the early parts of the season.

2. Torin Myhill (Carmarthen Quins)

The best scoring hooker in the league, Myhill’s success and accuracy is what has driven Quins’ driving lineout to the best in Wales. Opposition pack’s couldn’t get close to them once it got its momentum and Myhill was at the heart of that motion.

3. Ben Leung (Carmarthen Quins)

It’s no surprise that the most dominant pack in the league occupies two slots in the front row. With Javan Sebastien called up to the Scarlets for his exploits in the years previous Leung could show his talent, and boy did he. His work with Sebastien down the years may well have contributed to this season’s rise in form.

4. Hadyn Pugh (Carmarthen Quins CAPTAIN)

Quins totemic frontman, Pugh has been their most consistent player for a number of season’s. A key component in the driving maul aforementioned, Pugh’s influence goes far beyond rugby matters and players follow him into battle knowing they have to give 100% to match him.

5. Ashley Sweet (Ebbw Vale)

Despite a troubled season for the Steelmen Sweet has risen up to ensure the pack remains a staple of Vale’s diet. His endless carrying and lineout presence has played a major role in keeping Ebbw off the foot of the table.

6. Morgan Sieniawski (Pontypridd)

A ruthless tackler and grafter with ball in hand, Sieniawski has gained a reputation for being one of brightest talents in the Premiership. A perennial threat at the breakdown, he ensures that his backs have enough ball to do damage with in front of the Sardis faithful.

7. Lloyd Evans (Aberavon)

Another prominent figure in Aberavon’s success this year was Evans, who along with Joe Tomalin-Reeves have destroyed many an opposition breakdown. His jackalling skills are superb and matched by a great attacking skillset, he’s equally as dangerous in open play.

8. Morgan Allen (Cardiff)

Cardiff have dominated most areas of the game this season before a late push by Carmarthen was dethroned by Covid-19. Allen was a huge part of that game plan with his vicious attacking threat that usually saw him crash over the gain line.

Indigo Group Premiership
Bridgend Ravens are among the clubs calling for the EGM (Photo, credit @vivj33)

9. Lee Rees (Llandovery)

Llandovery’s playmaker behind his strong pack has pulled the strings well in a muddled season for the Drovers. Church Bank is always a difficult place to go to and Rees ensured that this season with pinpoint accuracy on his ball delivery and chirping in with deadly runs in the loose.

10. Aled Thomas (Aberavon)

Having made the switch from Carmarthen Thomas looked to thrive with the Wizards as his potent kicking threat and former regional experience told. He drove his side into many an attacking position before exercising his attacking skills to finish it off.

11. Terri Gee (Cardiff)

The Cardiff winger has been deadly with ball in hand for several season’s, the latest of which has been spent at the Arms Park following a move from Merthyr. With epic pace and an eye for the tryline Gee’s dangerous ability to score from anywhere gets him into the side.

12. Rhodri Jones (Llandovery)

Along with Rees and Jack Maynard, Jones has led the Llandovery attack to great heights. Scoring points for fun has been his game, but he’s equally as comfortable in creating chances by running around, or through, opponents.

13. Max Llewellyn (Cardiff)

Cardiff have amassed a talented squad and none more so than midfielder Llewellyn. Hi direct ball skills have ensured Cardiff finished as the second highest point scorers in the league, delivering superb ball to those outside him.

14. Dale Stuckey (Pontypridd)

The league’s top try scorer with eight points has bared the fruits of his forward pack’s dominance this season. His keen eye for a gap in the defence and a hunger for as many tries as possible sees Stuckey garb the second winger spot in our team.

15. Afon Bagshaw (RGC1404)

An ever-present figure in the RGC backline, Bagshaw has it all. His defensive awareness often gets the North Walians out of trouble, but he’s also a brilliant attacker with a love for running from deep. His all-round threat sees him edge out a competitive fullback spot.

The bench

16. Gareth Harvey (Bridgend Ravens)

17. Morgan Bosanko (Pontypridd)

18. Peter Lloyd (Cardiff)

19. Craig Locke (Merthyr)

20. Callum Bowden (Swansea)

21. Tom Habberfield (Cardiff)

22. Gareth Thompson (Cardiff)

23. Dewi Cross (Bridgend Ravens)

Head coach

Steve Law (Cardiff). Assisted by Emyr Phillips (Carmarthen Quins) and Jason Hyatt (Aberavon).

For all your Indigo Group Premiership updates follow us on Twitter @Rreesrugby and @LWOSRugby.


“Main photo credit”

Indigo Group Premiership
Club captains pose ahead of the Indigo Group Premiership launch. (Photo Credit : Mike Jones / Replay Images)