2019 Hall of Fame inductees announced by World Rugby

2019 Hall of Fame

This year’s 2019 Hall of Fame inductees will be honoured at the World Rugby Awards in Tokyo on November 3; the evening following the Rugby World Cup final.

World Rugby announced that six legends of the game in Richie McCaw (New Zealand), Shiggy Konno (Japan), Os du Randt (South Africa), Peter Fatialofa (Samoa), Sir Graham Henry (New Zealand) and Diego Ormaechea (Uruguay) will be inducted into the class of 2019 Hall of Fame.

While Fatialofa and Konno will be inducted posthumously, Richie McCaw, Sir Graham Henry and Diego Ormaechea will attend the prestigious event. World Rugby will celebrate all their careers and contributions to the game.

World Rugby 2019 Hall of Fame inductees:

  • No.143 – Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
  • No.144 – Shiggy Konno (Japan)
  • No.145 – Os du Randt (South Africa)
  • No.146 – Peter Fatialofa (Samoa)
  • No.147 – Graham Henry (New Zealand)
  • No.148 – Diego Ormaechea (Uruguay)

These six inductees bring the total in the Hall of Fame to 148, since it began in 2006.

World Rugby chairman and Hall of Fame inductee Sir Bill Beaumont said in a media statement, “Our beloved game of rugby would not be what it is today without the contributions of remarkable trailblazers, men, and women, who form the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

“They are players and coaches, true legends of the game that have embodied our values and will continue to inspire generations to come.

Hall of Fame
The World Rugby via Getty Images Hall of Fame Caps and Pins during the World Rugby via Getty Images Hall of Fame Launch at the World Rugby via Getty Images Hall of Fame on November 17, 2016 in Rugby, England. (Photo by Tony Marshall – World Rugby via Getty Images/World Rugby via Getty Images)

“On behalf of the rugby family, I would like to recognize and celebrate the outstanding achievements of this year’s six new inductees, Richie McCaw, Shiggy Konno, Os du Randt, Peter Fatialofa, Graham Henry and Diego Ormaechea for their outstanding career and thank them for their immense footprint on our game.

“We look forward to honouring them in November at what promises to be a very special night.”

Six Legends feature in 2019 Hall of Fame inductions

The above grouping, have all shown the qualities and values which World Rugby hold highest. Demonstrating rugby’s character-building values of integrity, passion, solidarity, discipline, and respect.

Players like Richie McCaw (see main photo) have held the Webb Ellis Cup in victory, yet each inductee has made their own substantial contribution. Shigeru Shiggy Kono has served rugby in Japan as a player, Manager of the national team, Japan Rugby Football chairman from 1972-94, and president as well as holding many prominent roles within the Asian Rugby Football Union.

Diego Ormaechea was a powerful number eight who enjoyed a wonderful international career spanning exactly two decades, from 1979-99. The last of Ormaechea’s 54 caps came against South Africa at Rugby World Cup 1999 when he became the oldest player, aged 40 years and 26 days, to appear in the tournament, a record he still holds to this day.

Os du Randt and Peter Fatialofa each imprinted their names on each player’s countries history. Du Randt, or ‘The Ox’ as he was nicknamed during his playing days, ended his career [like McCaw] as a part of a Rugby World Cup-winning Springboks team in 2007. Fatialofa was one of the leading lights of Pacifica Rugby with Manu Samoa – player and coach. He was also a part of the dominant Auckland provincial team of the pre-professional rugby era.

Sir Graham Henry was the coach of that Auckland team, then earning two Super Rugby titles before embarking on a successful International term. Leading Wales as the ‘great redeemer’ before he found his role as New Zealand head coach helping to finally wrestle the World Cup back into the All Blacks possession.

Fellow World Rugby Hall of Fame inductee and Chairman of the HOF panel John Eales, said, “It is an honour to recognise the contribution of our newest inductees who, over different eras and regions, have inspired millions of rugby players and supporters.

“Through their induction, they represent the many thousands of men and women who have made our game great.”

For more information on the 2019 Hall of Fame, visit worldrugby.org/halloffame.


“Main photo credit”
Embed from Getty Images