2019/20 Gallagher Premiership fixtures revealed

The fixtures for the 2019/20 Gallagher Premiership have been announced. It will start just as it did in 2018/19 with a West Country Derby between Bristol Bears and Bath. The announcement was made at an event at the BT Tower in London with the big reveal happening at 11am.

2019/20 Gallagher Premiership Fixtures

The start of the season is delayed until mid-October due to the World Cup taking place during September and October.

Round One of the Premiership will take place over the weekend of the World Cup quarter finals. This means some sides will still be missing internationals; no doubt this will be a topic of debate throughout the season.

The full fixture list for all teams is available on the Premiership Rugby website.

Dates for the diaries

There will be the usual matches moved to larger stadia throughout the season. Tottenham Hotspur’s new stadium will become the newest Premiership venue in March when Saracens play Harlequins; a match recently played at the Olympic Stadium and Wembley. Quins will again host a Big Game at Twickenham, this year against Leicester Tigers.

Elsewhere the St Patrick’s Day game returns to the Premiership thanks to London Irish’s return. This will be against Northampton Saints at the end of March.

Fixtures before the league starts

The good news is there will be club rugby taking place before October and the start of the Gallagher Premiership.

First the annual Premiership Rugby 7s tournament will take place in Northampton in September. The fixtures will be announced at noon on Monday 15 July.

Following this the Premiership Rugby Cup will run for four consecutive weeks in September and October. The knockout rounds will then occur as normal during the Six Nations in February 2020. These fixtures will be announced at noon on Wednesday 17 July.

Main image credit:
Embed from Getty Images