Rugby Championship 2019 Match Schedule released

Rugby Championship 2019 match schedule
Spread the love

In news this week, the Rugby Championship 2019 Match Schedule has been released. SANZAAR confirmed that an abbreviated six-match series will see reduced fixtures; during this Rugby World Cup year.

From the media release, it is reported that ‘The Rugby Championship is shortened to a three-round, six-match tournament from the traditional six-round, 12-match tournament with each team playing each other home or away this year’.

Rugby Championship 2019 Match Schedule

Furthermore, with Super Rugby now playing unbroken for 21 weeks; without the previous June break for inbound Test matches, The Rugby Championship kicks-off earlier on Saturday July 20.
The first match sees Argentina host New Zealand in Buenos Aires. In round three, The Rugby Championship will return to Perth (in a new venue, the Optus Stadium) where Australia host the All Blacks. The final match will see Argentina host South Africa in Salta, on Saturday August 10.

Download the full match schedule here (Dropbox file) or visit The Rugby Championship website.

With six matches completed, the Rugby Championship 2019 match schedule should have produced a clear winner. Notwithstanding a drawn match, either one of the four sides can take a degree of confidence away from the three games played.

Ongoing preparations toward the Rugby World Cup 2019

An additional round of matches will be played on the weekend of August 17, to allow a further home match for New Zealand and South Africa, as ongoing preparations for Rugby World Cup 2019.

The holder of The Rugby Championship trophy must put that to one side, as the focus becomes form and function. Preparations that will have to hold those teams in good stead, as the pinnacle event in World Rugby approaches in September.


“Main photo credit”
Embed from Getty Images