Roger Tuivasa-Skeck wins Dally M Award; NRL Grand Final on Sunday

Roger Tuivasa-Skeck wins Dally M Award
Spread the love

The New Zealand Warriors rugby league teams’ captain, Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has received the highest honour in the NRL. The seven-year veteran has been voted as the games best player – claiming the clubs first Dally M Award.

The award, voted for by fellow players and stakeholders, is a commendation for the player’s commitment and level of play at fullback. It is a vote of confidence for his position as Captain as well. A leader of the men on the field, and a leader in his position too. Tuiavasa-Sheck was voted Fullback of the Year, to sit beside his Dally M Award; during the annual event just days ahead of the NRL Grand Final on Sunday.

Roger Tuivasa-Skeck wins Dally M Award; NRL Grand Final on Sunday

In the building celebrations this week, before the culmination of the National Rugby League (NRL) season, the annual glittering event invites players, coaches, and stakeholders to the NRL presentation.

A night for opposing men and women to change from their boots, into suits, ties and their best, to enjoy the successes of the 2018 season.

Across the evening, all player-positions nominees and winners are announced. Altogether, that makes up the NRL 2018 Team of the Year.

That team would include two other NZ Warriors players.

Of the other NZ Warriors players honoured, was 2018 Interchange Player of the Year, Jazz Tevaga. The young, robust Hooker was the student of the more senior Isaac Luke, but the younger player made his presence felt across the long season.

He started in several games, and when entering from the bench, his impact was often positive and was recognized by his peers; at the NRL awards evening this week.

On the wing, the flying David Fusitu’a was rewarded for his consistency across the full season. 22 tries placed him at the apex of all other wingers, so was the recognition of the individual – as well as a ‘tip of the cap’ to the NZ Warriors tremendous form over the year.

The side this year had successfully rebuilt from the Ashes of the 2017 failure. Several key signings would repair the gaps left bare. Adam Blair, the buy of the season Blake Green, and the towering strength of Tohu Harris. That would be polished by the presence of Fusitu’a and of course, captain Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.

Note: Luke and other NZ Warriors players paid their own special tribute to their winning-Captain. After receiving his medal, Luke and Tevaga rose to perform a boisterous Haka – the ultimate show of respect, from his teammates.

“It’s unbelievable, I’m blown away to be receiving this award,” Tuivasa-Sheck was reported by “I’m truly proud of my club at the Warriors, they dug deep and came out to get the boys buzzing again.

“This goes back to them, I’m proud I can take it back to Auckland. To walk away with this, I’m truly grateful.”

Other NRL Award Winners

Anthony Seibold, of the South Sydney Rabbitohs, was voted best Coach of the Year. As well as Brisbane women’s hooker Brittany Breayley, who was named 2018 Dally M female player of the year.

Players recognized includes, Blake Ferguson for best winger, while Canberra’s Joey Leilua was judged best centre. Melbourne five-eighth Cameron Munster took out the positional award in the No.6 jersey, while Brooks earned halfback of the year accolades.

South Sydney’s Damien Cook took out hooker of the year and the Provan Summons medal, while Cronulla’s Andrew Fifita was awarded best prop with former NSW teammate Josh Jackson named second-rower of the year. North Queensland’s Jason Taumalolo finished as best lock.

In the off-field awards, Gold Coast Titans captain Ryan James was awarded the Ken Stephen Medal, while the Peter Frilingos Headline Moment of the year went to the NRL Holden Women’s State of Origin even in June.

Last season’s Dally M Award winner Cameron Smith was named 2018 Captain of the Year, in the lead up to Sunday’s NRL grand final.

NRL Grand Final on Sunday

After the glittering event, and the ‘meet the Players’ day for the public, the attention turns toward Sunday. On September 30, the NRL Grand Final will be played. The Provan-Summons Trophy will be competed for between the Sydney Roosters and the Melbourne Storm.

While the men’s teams will complete the full day of NRL Finals matches, there will be one additional game added to this seasons grand final day. The maiden year for the NRL Women’s Premiership will see a women’s final played in the lead-up to the main event.

Women prepare to make history, in the first-ever NRL Women’s Premiership Grand Final match.

This fact is a nod towards to ever growing participation of women in rugby league, and in rugby union. A perfect addition, that will sit beside the Intrust Championship final, prior to the NRG Grand Final proper.

NRL Holden Women’s Premiership Grand Final 2018
Brisbane Broncos v Sydney Roosters – ANZ Stadium, 1.35pm (AUS)

NRL Intrust Super State Championship 2018
Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs v Redcliffe Dolphins – 3.40pm (AUS)

ANZ Stadium pre-game show begins at 6.30pm, featuring Gangs of Youth.

NRL Telstra Premiership Grand Final Sydney 2018

Sydney Roosters v Melbourne Storm – ANZ Stadium, 7.20pm (AUS)

While Roger Tuivasa-Sheck will not play a part in the Grand Final itself, his contribution with the NZ Warriors, and across his career – where he played for the Sydney Roosters – the Dally M Awards still represent the best-of-the-best from the NRL. On Sunday, Cameron Smith and Boyd Cordner will lead their teams out onto ANZ Stadium.

Expect another fantastic afternoon of rugby league. 

Look forward to a full breakdown of the winning 2018 Premier winning side, and highlights from the 2018 NRL Grand Final on Monday, October 1, from Last Word on Rugby.

“Main photo credit”
Embed from Getty Images