Joey Carbery starts for Ireland against Australia

An intriguing selection from Joe Schmidt as he named his squad for the first of three tests in Australia, kicking off in Brisbane this Saturday (KO 11.05am Irish time). The most noticeable selection of all, is Joey Carbery at 10.

Joey Carbery starts at fly half

Joey Carbery starts at 10, with Johnny Sexton wearing the 22 jersey for the first time since the quarter final defeat to Wales in the 2011 World Cup. Carbery, who will make a move to Munster next season, has only started twice in the No.10 jersey this season, once for Leinster and once for Ireland against Fiji back in November. His move to Munster was brought about by his want for more game-time and what better test of a number 10 than playing a dangerous Wallabies side in their own backyard.

Carbery’s transition into the starting 10 spot will be aided by having the experienced Conor Murray at scrum-half and the powerful duo of Bundee Aki and Robbie Henshaw starting outside him. Rob Kearney, Jacob Stockdale and Keith Earls all keep their starting position in the backline.

Kieran Marmion and the exciting Jordan Larmour are both named named among the replacements also.

A Powerful Pack

Munster man Peter O’Mahony captains the side from 6, just under a year since he lead out the British & Irish Lions in their first test against the All Blacks in Auckland. Schmidt has gone for an entirely different front row that beat England back in March, with Jack McGrath, Rob Herring and John Ryan all starting, while the Leinster trio of Cian Healy, Sean Cronin and Tadhg Furlong all take a spot on the bench.

James Ryan and Iain Henderson combine in the second row, Ulster bound Jordi Murphy starts at 7, with CJ Stander at 8. Quinn Roux and Jack Conan on the bench. The noticeable absence of Dan Leavy and Tadhg Beirne suggests that Ireland are perhaps more focused on defence rather that disrupting the Australian breakdown.


  1. Jack McGrath
  2. Rob Herring
  3. John Ryan
  4. Iain Henderson
  5. James Ryan
  6. Peter O’Mahony (C)
  7. Jordi Murphy
  8. CJ Stander
  9. Conor Murray
  10. Joey Carbery
  11. Jacob Stockdale
  12. Bundee Aki
  13. Robbie Henshaw
  14. Keith Earls
  15. Rob Kearney


16. Sean Cronin
17. Cian Healy
18. Tadhg Furlong
19. Quinn Roux
20. Jack Conan
21. Kieran Marmion
22. Johnny Sexton
23. Jordan Larmour


Main image credit:
Embed from Getty Images