The Rugby Championship 2018 schedule released

The Rugby Championship 2018 schedule released
Spread the love

The 12-match schedule for The Rugby Championship 2018, including match venues and kick-off times, has been officially released. It see’s the familiar foes within the SANZAAR partnership, all challenge for superiority of the Southern Hemisphere.

Reigning champions New Zealand, Argentina (see main picture), South Africa and Australia will participate in a full schedule of home and away matches, with several new destinations on The Rugby Championship 2018 (TRC) calendar.

The Rugby Championship 2018 schedule released

The Rugby Championship 2018 kicks-off on Saturday 18 August, when the Wallabies take on the All Blacks at the Olympic Stadium, in Sydney. That same weekend, South Africa host Argentina at Kings Park in Durban.

With 12 matches, the calendar includes new locations. This includes Trafalgar Park, in Nelson. Located at the top of the South Island, it is the home of the Tasman Mako. This smaller venue will host the All Blacks v Los Pumas match, and promises to be an intimate setting for another ‘blockbuster’ match-up.

In Australia, the Wallabies host the Argentine team at cBus Super Stadium. Located at Robina, on the sunny Gold Coast, it is the current venue for the 2018 Commonwealth Games Rugby Sevens competition.

Culminating on Saturday October 6, when Argentina host Australia in Salta, as South Africa invite the All Blacks to Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria.

The Rugby Championship 2018 fixture list

August 18: Australia v New Zealand – ANZ Stadium, Sydney

South Africa v Argentina – Kings Park, Durban

August 25: New Zealand v Australia – Eden Park, Auckland

Argentina v South Africa – Estadio Malvinas Argentinas, Mendoza

September 8: New Zealand v Argentina – Trafalgar Park, Nelson

Australia v South Africa – Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

September 15: New Zealand v South Africa – Westpac Stadium, Wellington

Australia v Argentina – cBus Super Stadium, Gold Coast

September 29: South Africa v Australia – Nelson Mandela Stadium, Port Elizabeth

Argentina v New Zealand – Estadio Velez Sarsfield, Buenos Aires

October 6: South Africa New Zealand – Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria

Argentina v Australia – Estadio Padre Ernesto Martearena, Salta

With the schedule set, fans can ‘set their alarms’ now. The championship is still the premier International test series for the Southern Hemisphere. Emphasising traditional rivalries, as well as teams aspirations looking ahead to the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Look forward to the climax of Super Rugby on August 4. That then allows teams a fortnight to prepare, for The Rugby Championship 2018.


Note: After TRC finishes, an additional Bledisloe Cup fixture will be played between Australia and New Zealand. In preparation for the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan, the two teams will have a ‘trial’ game at the Nissan Stadium, Yokohama.
Scheduled for October 27, the third test for the famed trophy, will serve two functions. If Australia could win at Eden Park – for the first time since 1986 – then entering Japan, they might just have an opportunity to ‘claim the Cup’…..even though the All Blacks treasure that piece of silverware, as much as an Webb Ellis Cup [fans are told].

“Main photo credit”
Embed from Getty Images