Welsh Rugby Player Of The Year Announced

The Welsh Rugby Writers Association were handing out the awards at their 43rd annual awards dinner ceremony.¬†Welsh Rugby also paid tribute to one of it’s greats last night at the awards ceremony, in a glittering night at the Cardiff Arms Park.


In one of the closest ballots for years, Ospreys flanker Justin Tipuric held off a strong challenge to claim the award. Fellow Lions player Ken Owens missed out on the award by only two votes.

Tipuric’ consistent and excellent displays over the last twelve months for both Ospreys and Wales helped him achieve the accolade. Tipuric becomes the 3rd Osprey to win the award in the last four years. Following on from fellow Lions, Alun Wyn Jones in 2014 and Rhys Webb in 2015. The odd one out being current Bath and former Dragons number 8, Taulupe Faletau, picking up the award last season.

Young Player Of The Year

The award for the Welsh game’s most promising young player, went to Scarlets wing Steff Evans. The top try scorer in the Pro12 last season. Evans’ earned the award for his try scoring exploits and all round displays for the current champions. Evans’ closest challenger came in the frame of fellow winger, Keelan Giles.

Principality Premiership Player Of The Year

Another winger, Stefan Andrews, picked up the award for best player in the Principality Premiership. His performances for Aberavon last season, earned him the award and also a move to current Premiership Champions, Merthyr.

Women’s Player Of The Year

Women’s player of the year went to Rachel Taylor, with Scarlet forward Sioned Harries awarded, Welsh player of the World Cup.

The Lifetime Achievement Award

The final award of the night, the lifetime achievement award, went to a Welsh Rugby Great, Clive Rowlands. The former Wales captain and coach, who was also manager of the victorious 1989 Lions tour of Australia. Another Welsh Legend Gareth Edwards, paid tribute to Rowlands’ huge contribution to the Welsh game, with a special video message.

Video Credit to Wales Online Rugby.

“Main Photo:”
Embed from Getty Images