Women’s ODI Cricket World Cup : Facts

Jess Jonassen bowling in the Women's cricket world cup final.

Over the years, Women’s Cricket World Cup has seen lots of interesting and important milestones like the first ODI double century being scored, Australia winning the World Cup a record seven times, including three consecutive wins in 1978, 1982 and 1988, and the most

, South Africa and Sri Lanka reaching the quarter-finals at their World Cup debut. There also other interesting fact about the Women’s World Cup that are worth a mention. Let us take a look at some of them.

  • The first women’s World Cup was held two years before the men’s World Cup. The first women’s World Cup was held in 1973 and the men’s in 1975.
  • To date 16 teams have played in the World Cup. That includes leading cricket nations such Australia, England, New Zealand, India, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh as well as lesser lights such as Denmark, Ireland and the Netherlands. The tournament has also featured teams such as as International XI, Young England, as well as Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago.
  • India hosted a women’s World Cup before the men’s. India hosted the second Women’s World Cup in 1978 and later hosted the men’s World Cup for the first time in 1983. The same holds true for Australia and New Zealand.
  • The 1978 World Cup hosted by India had the fewest number of teams participating. There were only four teams in the competition – India, Australia, England and West Indies.
  • Australia, England and New Zealand are the only teams to have appeared in every editions of the World Cup. They are also the only three teams that have won the World Cup. Australia has won it seven times, England four times and New Zealand once. They have also won more Women’s World Cup than the Men’s World Cup.
  • Australia has won the most number of matches in the World Cup so far – 77 and India and New Zealand have lost the most number of matches in the World Cup – 30.
  • Bangladesh, Jamaica and Young England have won the fewest number of  World Cup matches with just one win apiece. Bangladesh, however, will surely back themselves to improve on that in the coming years.
  • India is the only Asian country to host the World Cup so far. India is also the only Asian team to reach the finals of the World Cup. They reached the finals twice – 2005 and 2017.
  • England played two teams in the inaugural 1973 World Cup – England and Young England, a team that comprised of under-25 players from England. The team had been created to make up the numbers in the tournament.
  • Another team that had been created to make up the numbers was International XI. This team comprised of players of different nationalities who either did not make into their country’s first team or whose national side were not at the World Cup. The International XI played two World Cups – 1973 and 1982.
  • The Australian team has never finished below fourth position in the World Cup, with their fourth placed-finish at the 2009 World Cup is their worst performance in the tournament to date.
  • Belinda Clark became the first player male or female to score a double century in ODI cricket when she scored 229* against Denmark in the 1997 World Cup.
  • Australia has has the most number of appearances in the finals of the World Cup – seven. They have only lost one final in the World Cup so far and thrashed England by 71 runs in the most recent World Cup final.

Main photo:
Embed from Getty Images