Indian Premier League 2022 Stats Preview

Delhi Capitals team bus ahead of the start of the Indian Premier League.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) returns on 26th March 2022 and will see 10 teams playing with the debut of two new teams – the Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants. This marks the first time since 2013 that more than eight teams will be playing in the IPL. A total of 74 matches that will be played with Mumbai, Pune and Navi Mumbai set to host all the matches.

The Format

The 2022 edition will see a change in the format of the tournament. The teams have been divided into two groups with Group A consisting of Mumbai Indians (MI), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Delhi Capitals (DC) and Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Group B composed of Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Punjab Kings (PBKS) and Gujarat Titans (GT).

Each team will play 14 matches – two matches against teams on their own group. They will also play one match against four teams in the other group and two matches against the remaining team in the other group. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the playoffs – the qualifier and the eliminator.

Past Winners

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in IPL with five titles, they are followed by Chennai Super Kings with 4 titles. Kolkata Knight Riders have also also won the tournament twice making them the third most successful franchise in IPL. Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Deccan Chargers, meanwhile, have all won the tournament once, though Deccan Chargers will not be able to add to their silverware as they are also the only defunct team that has won the IPL.

Key Stats from Indian Premier League

Batting Records

  • 263/5 scored by RCB against Pune Warriors in IPL 2013 is the highest team total.
  • 49 all out by RCB against KKR in IPL 2017 is the lowest team total.
  • Virat Kohli of RCB has scored the most number of runs in IPL – 6283 runs.
  • Chris Gayle playing for RCB holds the record for the highest individual score in IPL. He scored 175* against Pune Warriors in 2013. His innings included 13 fours and 17 sixes.
  • To date, 67 centuries have been scored in the IPL.
  • Gayle holds the record for the most number of centuries scored by a player in the IPL – 6. He scored 5 of them playing for RCB and 1 for Kings XI Punjab.
  • Gayle has hit the most number of sixes in the IPL – 367 and he also holds the record for the most number of sixes hit in an innings. He hit 17 sixes against Pune Warriors in IPL 2013.
  • David Warner has scored the most number of half-centuries in the IPL – 50. His half-centuries came playing for Delhi Daredevils and SRH.
  • Kohli holds the record for the most number of runs scored by a player in a series. He scored 973 runs in the 2013 IPL.

Bowling Records

  • Lasith Malinga, currently playing for Mumbai Indians, is the most successful bowler in the IPL. He has taken 170 wickets.
  • 6/12 by Alzarri Joseph of Mumbai Indians against SRH in 2019 is the best bowling figures in the IPL.
  • 24 five-wicket hauls have been taken in the IPL.
  • Jaydev Unadkat and James Faulkner have taken the most number of five-wicket hauls. They both have achieved this feat twice.
  • Harshal Patel of RCB holds the record for the most number of wickets taken by a player in a single tournament after taking 32 wickets in the 2021 IPL.

Wicket-keeping Records

  • MS Dhoni has the most dismissals in the IPL – 161. He achieved this while playing for CSK and Rising Pune Supergiant.
  • Kumar Sangakkara playing for Deccan Chargers holds the record for the most dismissals in an innings. He got five dismissals against RCB in the 2011 IPL .
  • Rishabh Pant of DC holds the record for the most number of dismissals by a wicket-keeper in a single IPL season. He got 24 dismissals in the 2019 IPL.

Fielding Records

  • Suresh Raina playing for CSK and Gujarat Lions has taken the most number of catches in the IPL – 109.
  • Mohammad Nabi of SRH has taken the most number of catches in an innings. He took five catches against MI in the 2021 IPL.
  • AB de Villiers of RCB holds the record for the most catches by a player in a series. He took 19 catches in the 2016 IPL.

Other mentions

  • MS Dhoni has played the most IPL matches – 220 and also captained the most number of matches – 204.
  • The 229 runs partnership between Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers against Gujarat Lions in 2016 is the highest partnership by runs in the IPL. They also hold the record for the second highest partnership by runs in the IPL – 215 against MI in 2015.
  • CSK has made the most appearances in the finals with nine. They are also the only team to beat Mumbai Indians in the finals. They are also the team to lose the most number of finals – 5 out of which three were against Mumbai Indians, three against Rajasthan Royals and three against Kolkata Knight Riders.
  • Australian white-ball captain Aaron Finch has played for the most number of IPL teams – eight. He has turned out for Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Daredevils, Pune Warriors, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Mumbai Indians, Gujarat Lions, Kings XI Punjab and Royal Challengers Bangalore. He was also the captain during his stint with Pune Warriors.

Main photo:
Embed from Getty Images