Can New Zealand’s T20 team seal a clean sweep against Bangladesh?

Can the New Zealand T20 team affect a clean sweep against Bangladesh in the series?

In-form hosts look to win T20I series 3-0 to end home summer

In the two games so far, New Zealand have dominated proceedings. In fact, they’ve won every game against Bangladesh this summer. The 3rd and final T20I represents a chance for an under-strength Bangladesh side to achieve a consolation win against New Zealand’s T20 team.

In the first T20I, New Zealand blazed away and scored 210-3, which proved far too much for the visitors, who crumbled to 144/8. The hosts won by 66 runs, with Devon Conway blasting 92 from just 52 balls. Ish Sodhi then picked up 4 wickets in the chase.

The second T20I was threatening to be a closer contest but Bangladesh collapsed with the bat, just when they needed to step on the pedal. Chasing 171 in 16 overs, Bangladesh were decently placed at 94-1 at the start of the 11th over. But, a good fight back by New Zealand ensured that they would win the series, with one game still to play.

Prestigious Phillips

Glen Phillips has been in awesome form with both the bat and the ball for New Zealand. In the first T20I, he scored 24 from just 10 balls to boost the final score to over 200. He then bowled an over conceding just 5 runs in a chase which required the opponents to play at more than 10 runs per over.

In the second T20I, he rescued a middle-order collapse, scoring 58 from just 31 balls. With the ball he picked up 1 wicket and conceded just 20 runs in three overs – registering the second-best economy rate by any New Zealand bowler in the game.

NAPIER, NEW ZEALAND – MARCH 30: Glenn Phillips of New Zealand celebrates scoring 50 runs during game two of the International T20 series between New Zealand and Bangladesh at McLean Park on March 30, 2021 in Napier, New Zealand. (Photo by Kerry Marshall/Getty Images)

If Bangladesh are going to win the third T20I at Eden Park, Auckland, they will need to ensure that Phillips does not continue his all-round form, or else it could be difficult for the visitors to stop New Zealand’s T20 team.


Don’t Miss It!

The best services to stream live cricket online for free

The top 5 richest cricketers in the world


A better bowling display

There is no doubt that New Zealand’s small-sized grounds favour batsmen in the shorter formats of the game. But, this doesn’t excuse the fact that the Bangladesh bowlers have conceded more than 10 runs an over in both games. Albeit an inexperienced group, missing the likes of Shakib Al Hasan.

Eden Park in Auckland will be no kinder to any bowler on show. The boundaries have been criticised many times in the past for being too short and making it an uneven contest between bat and ball.

Bangladesh will need to find answers quickly and their best hope is perhaps that Mustafizur Rahman, their most experienced bowler steps up to the task.

Rain rain go away

The second T20I witnessed interruptions for rain, which ultimately reduced the number of overs in the game. New Zealand’s T20 team only batted 17.5 overs and Bangladesh’s side only batted 16 overs.

The home summer for New Zealand has been kind to viewers, fans and players up to this date. There haven’t been many rain interruptions in comparison to normal New Zealand standards.

However, rain does change some elements in the game. For example, a wet outfield or moisture in the air can cause the ball to behave differently. New Zealand’s pacers probably won’t mind because the likes of Southee thrive on extracting swing and seam movement.

We will have to see how the third T20I pans out. Rain is forecast for the next two days but there is also sun and lightning forecast. It could be a mixture of the three realistically, which could make for interesting viewing but a lot of stop starts.


Don’t Miss It!

Who is New Zealand’s best T20 batsman?

Why cricket will struggle to be an Olympic sport


Date and time

The 3rd T20I at Eden Park, Auckland will take place at 7PM local time.


Predicted XI’s

New Zealand’s T20 team: Martin Guptill, Finn Allen, Devon Conway (WK), Will Young, Glen Phillips, Mark Chapman, Daryl Mitchell, Tim Southee (C), Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Hamish Bennet.

Bangladesh’s T20 team: Mohammad Naim, Liton Das (WK), Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah (C), Afif Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Taskin Ahmed.


Main Image Credit:
Embed from Getty Images

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.