The Bob Willis Trophy: Essex Claim Title Against Somerset After Draw

The Bob Willis Trophy was won by Essex County Cricket Club after they defeated Somerset County Cricket Club in the final.

Bob Willis Trophy: Essex Triumphant Again

Essex clung on for a draw to clinch the Bob Willis Trophy and with it, this summer first-class honours. In a repeat of the 2019 County Championship-deciding clash, it was Essex lead by Tom Westley taking the silverware after beating Somerset.

The Essex batsmen had to hold off the onslaught of Somerset’s bowlers to draw and clinch the trophy after earning a first-innings lead of 36 runs.

Bowling first one day one of a chilly but sunny Lords spectacle, Essex dismissed Somerset for 301. Edward Byrom making a century and Sam Cook picking up five wickets.

Alastair Cook Shines In The Bob Willis Trophy For Essex

Sir Alastair Cook scored a superb century in the final for Essex.
LONDON, ENGLAND – SEPTEMBER 27: Sir Alastair Cook of Essex hits runs watched on by Tom Abell of Somerset during Day 5 of the Bob Willis Trophy Final between Somerset and Essex at Lord’s Cricket Ground on September 27, 2020 in London, England. (Photo by Alex Davidson/Getty Images)

In response England legend Alastair Cook showed age is just a number as he struck a remarkable and ultimately critical 172 to give his county that first-innings advantage.

Somerset soon passed the Essex lead and went on to make a healthy profit before setting their opponents 237 to win outright. Opener Tom Lammonby striking 116 to put the Taunton county back in contention.

However, as they slipped to 98-4, Essex soon shut up shop and decided they would hold on for the draw and attempt to claim the trophy.

Ryan ten Doeschate made a stubborn 46 from 137 and Adam Wheater made just 14 from 80 deliveries. The Chelmsford side successfully held off all seven Somerset bowlers and claimed victory.

The Bob Willis Trophy was held in place of the regular County Championship and in honour of the late great England bowler and broadcaster Bob Willis.

Also, Read – Top 5 Most Runs For England Cricket In Test Matches

Essex Deserved Champions?

At 179-6, the game was still wide open, perhaps. In fact, Somerset can feel aggrieved not to have won the Bob Willis Trophy final against Essex. They tried their best but were held off ultimately by a stubborn and very experienced Essex side.

Essex claimed their third title in two years
LONDON, ENGLAND – SEPTEMBER 27: Essex players and staff including (left to right) Feroze Khushi, Will Buttleman, Aaron Beard, Jamie Porter, Simon Harmer, Tom Westley (holding trophy), Anthony McGrath (in blue), Sam Cook, Paul Walter, Dan Lawrence (in blue), Nick Browne (behind), Ryan ten Doeschate (behind), Sir Alastair Cook and Adam Wheater of Essex with the trophy on the balcony as the team celebrate after the Bob Willis Trophy Final between Somerset and Essex at Lord’s Cricket Ground on September 27, 2020 in London, England. (Photo by Philip Brown/Popperfoto/Popperfoto via Getty Images)

This meant that the Bob Willis Trophy went to Essex, who have defended their crown from last season. Three trophies in two seasons, represent a very good return for Essex Cricket.

Essex bow to improve after muslim player sprayed with alcohol

The attention now turns to Vitality T20 Blast action which returns with all four quarter-finals on Thursday evening. It should be an exciting clash.

Also Read: 2021 World T20: Picking England’s T20 Squad

Main Image Credit:
Embed from Getty Images