India’s Previous Encounters At Lord’s

Spread the love

Come Thursday, India will face England in the second of the five test match series at Lord’s. The Mecca of Cricket will be hosting the 18th Test match between these two teams. For the visitors, who are trailing 0-1, Lord’s brings a whole lot of sweet memories, like their first ever Test here in 1932, the world-shaking 1983 World Cup triumph and the dramatic NatWest ODI series 2002 final.

India’s Previous Encounters At Lord’s

Going by the statistics, Lord’s has not been a happy hunting ground for India. India have played 17 Tests here and managed to emerge victorious only twice, losing 11 and four were draws. Going on these lines, let’s have a recap of the last five Test matches of India at Lord’s:

2nd Test, 20-24 June 1996

The build-up to this Test was mostly focused upon umpire Dickie Bird’s last Test as an umpire. India, after losing the first Test at Edgbaston, was looking to make a comeback. The visitors handed out debuts to two batsmen who would go on to become the fulcrum of the Indian batting order:- Rahul Dravid and Sourav Ganguly. England, pushed into batting first, were bowled out for 344 with Jack Russell scoring 124 runs and Graham Thorpe making 89 runs. India, in turn, made 429 runs with a 131 for Ganguly and Dravid missing his maiden Test century by just five runs. Though the match ended in a draw, India got Ganguly and Dravid to serve the side for the next 15 years.

1st Test, 25-29 July 2002

It was the first Test between the two teams, at the Home of Cricket which promised a cracking start to the series. England, electing to bat first, posted 487 in the first innings with Nasser Hussain playing a captain’s knock of 155 and Andrew Flintoff plus Craig White chipping in with fifties each. India crumbled to 221 with Sehwag scoring 84 and other batters not contributing much. England capitalized on the lead of 266 runs and declared on 301 runs in the second innings with twin centuries from Michael Vaughan and John Crawley. Given a target of a daunting 586 runs, India crashed to 397 all out despite an unlikely century from Ajit Agarkar and fifties from Wasim Jaffer, Rahul Dravid and VVS Laxman. England winning by 17- runs.
Embed from Getty Images
1st Test, 19-23 July 2007

India was back to touring England after a gap of five years. Like 2002, the first Test was yet again at Lord’s. England was skittled out for 298, with Andrew Strauss scoring 96 and Michael Vaughan with 79. India, in return, made 201 runs with Wasim Jaffer top-scoring with 58 runs and James Anderson wreaking havoc with 5 for 42. Having a crucial lead of 97 runs, England were 282 all out with Kevin Pietersen grinding with a 213-ball 134 and RP Singh taking 5 for 59 and Zaheer Khan taking 4 for 79. With 380 to chase, India was at 145 for five before VVS Laxman’s 39 and MS Dhoni’s unbeaten 76 saving the match for India as bad light on final day meant play was abandoned and match ending in a draw.

 1st Test, 21 to 25 July 2011

The day 1 of the Test, of the series was the 2000th Test match and the 100th Test between India and England. It saw bowling spearhead Zaheer Khan injure his hamstring while giving down the 14th over. It showed as England declared at 474 for eight with Kevin Pietersen smashed Indian bowlers for an unbeaten 202 and Matt Prior getting 71 under his belt. Rahul Dravid rescued the team with his unbeaten 103 but rest of the batters couldn’t match up to his efforts and India were 286 all out in first innings. Gaining a lead of 192 runs, Prior bettered his first innings effort by remaining unconquered on 103 and England setting India a mammoth target of 486. India, despite a 56 from VVS Laxman and a fighting 78 from Suresh Raina, couldn’t prevent a loss and England won by 196 runs.

2nd Test – 17 to 21 July 2014

This Test saw India’s wait of winning a Test match at Lord’s after 1986 brought to an end. Pushed into batting first, India found themselves in trouble early on when they were reduced to 145 for seven. It was Ajinkya Rahane’s steely 103 and crucial partnership with Bhuvneshwar Kumar which took India to 295. England, despite Gary Ballance’s 110, were 319 all out and Bhuvneshwar having 6 for 82. Having conceded a lead of 24 runs, India made 342 with Murali Vijay (95), Ravindra Jadeja (68) and Bhvuneshwar (52) being the chief contributors. Chasing the score they had in first innings, it was all smooth for England till Ishant wreak havoc. Post lunch, it was an inspired show by the lanky Delhi pacer as he took 7 for 74 and bounced out England for 223 and India winning by 95 runs.

Main Photo:
Embed from Getty Images