Sports. Honestly. Since 2011

NBA All-Star MVP Trophy Named after Kobe Bryant

The NBA All-Star MVP trophy has been renamed the “Kobe Bryant MVP Award” in honor of the Los Angeles Lakers legend. The announcement comes three weeks after the tragic helicopter crash that killed Bryant and eight others.

Bryant won the award that would posthumously bear his name four times in his illustrious career.

NBA All-Star MVP Award Renamed the “Kobe Bryant MVP Award”

NBA commissioner Adam Silver made the announcement Saturday at the annual news conference prior to the All-Star game.

“We are renaming our All-Star MVP trophy the Kobe Bryant MVP award,” Silver said. “This trophy will be presented at the conclusion of tomorrow night’s All-Star Game, and I know it’ll be especially meaningful to that player that wins the first Kobe Bryant MVP [award].”

Bryant had one of the best All-Star careers in NBA history. He finished his career with 18 all-star appearances, second-most all-time. He garnered the most votes in 2003, 2011, 2013, and 2016. Along with Bob Cousy, Bryant holds the record for most All-Star MVPs, with four.

Bryant also cooked up a plethora of memorable moments outside of All-Star weekend. In 1997, he famously won the Slam Dunk Contest as a rookie. He won the 2009 co-MVP with Shaquille O’Neal, a moment that helped mend their tumultuous relationship. And in 2011, he put on perhaps the most dominant showing in All-Star history, putting up 37 points, 14 rebounds, and 3 steals at Staples Center.

The All-Star MVP award name change is the latest in a long line of touching tributes for Bryant. Overall, it’s a moving and meaningful way to not only remember his remarkable accomplishments but his overall impact on the game of basketball.

Main Photo:
Embed from Getty Images


More Posts

Send Us A Message