GATINEAU, CANADA - MARCH 15: Jack Nevins #26 of the the Rouyn Noranda Huskies skates against the Gatineau Olympiques during the QMJHL game on March 15, 2014 at Robert Guertin Arena in Gatineau, Quebec, Canada.  (Photo by Francois Laplante/FreestylePhoto/Getty Images)

Jack Nevins Assigned to Hamilton Bulldogs

TORONTO, ON - NOVEMBER 10: Breandan Shanahan (C) receives his Hockey Hall of Fame blazer from Jim Gregory (L) and Pat Quinn (R) prior to the 2013 Hockey Hall of Fame Legends Classic game at the Mattamy Athletic Center on November 10, 2013 in Toronto, Canada.  (Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images)

Report: Brendan Shanahan to be President of Maple Leafs

April 10, 2014 Comments (1) Hockey, International, NHL Draft HQ, Top Shelf Prospects

USA Hockey U18 Roster Announced


Jack Eichel

USA Hockey has announced the roster for the IIHF Under 18 World Championships.  The team will compete at the Under 18 World Championships opening on April 17 in Lapeenranta and Imatra, Finland.

TopShelfProspectsLast year the Americans took home silver after falling 3-2 to Canada in the Gold Medal Game.  Team USA had won the previous four gold medals at this tournament and has won a medal in 10 straight events.  This squad will look to take the Americans back to the top of the Under-18 world.

20 of the 22 players spent the season with the US National Team Development program in Ann Arbor, Michigan.  Kyle Connor skated this season for the Youngstown Phantoms of the United States Hockey League. While Alex Nedeljkovic is the lone CHL player, coming from the Plymouth Whalers of the OHL.  19 players were on the US NTDP Under 18 squad, while Auston Matthews was on the under-17 team.

Under 17 eligible Jack Eichel is the lone returning player from last year’s squad.  Eichel is not eligible to be drafted until the 2015 NHL Draft and is seen as the biggest challenger to Connor McDavid for the first overall pick.  He also played for Team USA at this years World Junior Championships

Eichel scored 20 goals and 45 points in 24 games in the U18 team’s USHL season this year, and is expected to lead the American offence in Finland.  Other USA Hockey U18 members to watch include Alex Tuch, Dylan Larkin, Sonny Milano, and Jack Glover, who are potential first round picks for the 2014 NHL Draft.

USA Hockey U18 Goaltenders

Edwin Minney (Wind Gap, Pa.), Alex Nedeljkovic (Parma, Ohio).

USA Hockey U18 Defense

Louie Belpedio (Skokie, Ill.), Ryan Collins (Bloomington, Minn.), Jack Dougherty (Cottage Grove, Minn.), Brandon Fortunato (North Hills, N.Y.), Jack Glover (Golden Valley, Minn.), Noah Hanifin (Norwood, Mass.), Johnathan MacLeod (Dracut, Mass.).

USA Hockey U18 Forwards

Anders Bjork (Mequon, Wis.), Kyle Connor (Shelby Township, Mich.), Jack Eichel (North Chelmsford, Mass.), Jared Fiegl (Parker, Colo.), Shane Gersich (Chaska, Minn.), Ryan Hitchcock (Manhasset, N.Y.), Dylan Larkin (Waterford, Mich.), Auston Matthews (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Sonny Milano (Massapequa, N.Y.), Dylan Pavelek (Marysville, Mich.), Nolan Stevens (Manhattan Beach, Calif.), Alex Tuch (Baldwinsville, N.Y.) Joe Wegwerth (Brewster, N.Y.).


Thank you for reading. Please take a moment to follow me on Twitter – @lastwordBkerr.  Support LWOS by following us on Twitter  –@LastWordOnSport – and “liking” our Facebook page.

Interested in writing for LWOS? We are looking for enthusiastic, talented writers to join our hockey writing team.  Visit our “Write for Us” page for very easy details in how you can get started today!

One Response to USA Hockey U18 Roster Announced

  1. Dominic Belley says:

    Auston Matthews is a great young player and can’t wait to see him play this year. Unofficial Fansite :

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.